UW's Frimpong & Bennett Get West Region Honors

Dec. 17, 2003

SEATTLE - University of Washington junior Tina Frimpong received first-team All-West Region women's soccer acclaim and senior Melissa Bennett garnered third-team honors when the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) announced its annual post-season awards.

Frimpong was recently named the Pacific-10 Conference Player of the Year after leading the league with 13 goals. She is one of three forwards among the regional first-team selections, joining Veronica Zepeda from Santa Clara and UCLA's Iris Mora.

A product of Hudson's Bay High School in Vancouver, Wash., Frimpong led the Huskies to an 11-7-3 record and their third postseason berth in the last four years. Washington lost 2-1 to Nebraska in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

The 13 goals scored by Frimpong represent the second highest single-season total in school history. Current UW assistant coach Tami Bennett established the school record with 16 goals during the 2000 campaign. Frimpong nearly equaled the goal output from her first two years combined when she netted seven goals each season.

Frimpong is tied for second among all-time Huskies with 27 career goals. The school record of 34 is held by Bennett who played from 1997-2000. Frimpong is tied in the No. 2 career scoring spot with Tara Bilanski (1992-95) and Theresa Wagner (1997-2000).

Bennett, a midfielder, received her first regional recognition. She was an honorable mention All-Pac-10 team pick.

The Seattle Christian High School graduate became the Huskies' all-time playmaking leader, increasing her career total 29 assists. Bennett, who eclipsed the school's single-season record with 18 assists in 2002, tallied two goals and eight assists this year.

Pac-10 champion and NCAA Final Four qualifier UCLA contributed the most players to the West Region team with five selections. Brigham Young's Jenifer Rockwood was voted the West Region Coach of the Year.

2003 NSCAA West Region Women's Soccer Team

GK, Nicole Barnhart, JR, Stanford
D, Imani Dorsey, SR, Portland
D, Amy LePeilbet, SR, Arizona State
D, Nandi Pryce, SR, UCLA
MF, Amber Brower, SR, Utah
MF, Lindsey Huie, SO, Portland
MF, Leslie Osborn, JR, Santa Clara
MF, Aleisha Rose, SR, Brigham Young
F, Tina Frimpong, JR, Washington
F, Iris Mora, SO, UCLA
F, Veronica Zepeda, SR, Santa Clara

GK, Ashley Mason, FR, Utah
D, Stephanie Lopez, FR, Portland
D, Sierra Simmons, SO, Cal Poly
D, Natalie Spilger, SR, Stanford
MF, Whitney Jones, SR, UCLA
MF, Allyson Marquand, SR, Stanford
MF, Tracey Stratton, JR, Utah
MF, Sarah Swanson, SR, UCLA
F, Amanda Feigt, FR, Utah
F, Lacey Ubaldi, SR, Pepperdine
F, Kim Yokers, SR, California

GK, Greta Shiron, SR, Cal Poly
D, Missy Baggaley, JR, Utah State
D, Hollie Christensen, JR, Idaho State
D, Nicole Jensen, FR, Brigham Young
MF, Melissa Bennett, SR, Washington
MF, Krissa Campbell, JR, Brigham Young
MF, Jill Oakes, SO, UCLA
F, Sierra Cristiano, SR, Northern Arizona
F, Annie Hawkins, JR, Gonzaga
F, Anni Magliulo, JR, Nevada-Las Vegas
F, Candice Wilks, JR, Arizona

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder