Field Announced For 2004 USTA/ITA National Team Indoor Championships Hosted By Washington

Dec. 18, 2003

SKILLMAN, N.J. -The 16-team field for the 2004 USTA/ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championships, hosted by Washington, Feb. 5-8, at the Lloyd Nordstrom Tennis Center on the UW campus and at the Seattle Tennis Club, was announced today by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

In addition to Washington, the field for this year's competition includes Baylor, Boise State, California, Duke, Florida, Harvard, Illinois, Kentucky, Mississippi, Stanford, Texas, Texas A&M, Tulsa, UCLA, and Vanderbilt.

The USTA/ITA National Team Indoor Championship is collegiate tennis' premier indoor team tournament. The men's championship has been held since 1973. Each season this tournament also offers a preview of the teams to beat in the May NCAA Championships.

Illinois broke the Pac-10's stranglehold on the men's title last season, beating Florida, 4-2, in the final. Prior to this four different Pac-10 schools (Stanford, UCLA, California and USC) had won the title every year since 1987. Stanford has won a record 12 titles.

This year marks the third year that Washington has hosted the event, after the Huskies did so in 1999 and 2001. Both years mark Washington's two previous appearances in the championship, with UW tying for fifth in 2001 and tying for seventh in 1999.

The collegiate tennis dual match season begins in January and concludes in May with the season-ending NCAA Championships. The Huskies make their 2004 debut hosting Santa Clara, Friday, Jan. 23, at 4 p.m. in the Lloyd Nordstrom Tennis Center.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder