Husky Gym Team Opens at Cancun Invitational

Jan. 1, 2004

Seattle - The 15th-ranked Washington women's gymnastics team opens its 2004 season at the Cancun Invitational at the Hilton Hotel in Cancun, Mexico on Friday, Jan. 3 at 5 p.m. PT. The meet also features teams from 12th-ranked Iowa, 13th-ranked Oklahoma and Division II Texas Woman's University. The meet marks the second time Washington has competed internationally. In 1979 the Huskies traveled to British Columbia for a pair of meets against Canadian Colleges.

The 2004 Husky roster includes eight returning letterwinners and five freshmen. Last season the Huskies posted a 21-11 record and finished third at the NCAA West Regional Championship. Two juniors -- Carly Dockendorf and Tacia LaBatte -- from last year's team advanced to the NCAA Championships as All-Around competitors. Dockendorf earned second-team All-American honors on floor exercise at the NCAAs.

Sophomore Kelly McDonald and senior Emily Pritchard will compete as All-Arounders for the Huskies in Cancun. Freshmen Chelsea Bakken and Nicole Waiss are expected to see their first collegiate competition at the meet. Senior Amy Metcalf, who has been slowed due to off-season wrist surgery, is expected to compete only on beam.

Washington's next meet will be its home opener against California and Sacramento State on Jan. 16 at 7 p.m. at Bank of America Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion.

Probably Husky Line-up:

1. Carly Dockendorf
2. Chelsea Bakken
3. Nikki Waiss
4. Kelly McDonald
5. Tacia LaBatte
6. Emily Pritchard

1. Chelsea Bakken
2. Kim Lewis
3. Carly Dockendorf
4. Kelly McDonald
5. Emily Pritchard
6. Molly Seaman

1. Tacia LaBatte
2. B.J. Das
3. Amy Metcalf
4. Emily Pritchard
5. Kelly McDonald
6. Molly Seaman

1. Molly Seaman
2. Chelsea Bakken
3. Kelly McDonald
4. Tacia LaBatte
5. Emily Pritchard
6. Carly Dockendorf

Gym-Info Preseason Coaches Poll
2. Georgia
3. Alabama
4. Utah
5. Michigan
6. Stanford
7. Florida
8. Nebraska
9. Arizona St.
10. LSU
11. Oregon St.
12. Iowa
13. Oklahoma
14. Auburn
15. Washington
16. Iowa State
17. Arizona
18. Denver
19. Penn State
20. North Carolina
21. California
22. Minnesota
23. Ohio State
24. BYU
25. Missouri

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder