Wrestling Upsets No. 2 Iowa State to Finish Undefeated at Sun Devil Duals

Jan. 4, 2004

Complete Sun Devil Dual Results (pdf)

TEMPE, Ariz. - In search of its first win of the season and slated to compete in three duals on the day, the No. 11 Arizona State wrestling team swept its opponents, including an upset of undefeated and No. 2 Iowa State, to move to 3-2 (1-0 Pac-10) following the 2004 Sun Devil Duals inside Wells Fargo Arena. The Sun Devils defeated intrastate rival Embry-Riddle, 32-12, conference foe Stanford, 24-17, and ISU, 22-20.

The Duals opened with the Sun Devils downing the Eagles of ERAU for the fifth time in a row as eight of ASU's 10 wrestlers earned wins. Leading the way was No. 10 Brian Stith (Fr., Hampton, Va.) with a forfeit victory at 157. Also scoring wins were No. 12 Nick Frost (Sr., Tucson, Ariz.) at 184, No. 11 Cain Velasquez (So., Yuma, Ariz.) at heavyweight and Christian Staylor (Fr., Chesapeake, Va.) at 125, all with technical fall wins while No. 3 Ryan Bader (So., Verdi, Nev.), at 197, and Jeremy Mendoza (So., Temecula, Calif.), at 141, each won by major decisions. ASU jumped out to an early 19-0 lead on the way to remaining undefeated all-time against ERAU.

Following its first dual win of the season, ASU looked to earn its first conference victory of the season and got just that with a 24-17 defeat of the Cardinal. Six individual wins, including the first five matches of the dual, earned the victory for the Sun Devils in their first dual with Stanford since 1986 when ASU moved to 3-0 all-time against SU. Bader and Velasquez each picked up technical fall wins while Frost and Mike Simpson (Jr., Anaheim, Calif.) at 133 both won by major decisions as the Sun Devils took a commanding 21-0 lead to open the dual. Williams earned the final win of the dual for ASU with a decision win.

The final dual of the day saw the Sun Devils snap the Cyclones nine-match winning streak this year, as well as halt ISU's winning streak over ASU at 11, with an opening-bout upset at 184. Frost, ranked 12th, defeated Kurt Backes, the seventh-ranked wrestler in the nation, 6-2, to set the tone early. Bader followed with a 5-1 decision before Velasquez pushed the advantage to 10-0 with a 21-8 major decision at heavyweight. Staylor increased the margin to 16-0 with a forfeit win at 125.

Following a loss at 133, Mendoza won a tough battle, 15-9, to increase the lead to 19-3 with only four matches remaining. With the team needing just one win to secure the dual, Stith came out on the mats and won a 6-2 decision to push the advantage to 22-9 and solidifying the win. ISU won by technical fall and forfeit in the final two bouts to close the margin to its final of 22-20.

On the day, five Sun Devils went undefeated in their bouts with four wrestlers posting 3-0 marks. Frost, Bader, Velasquez and Staylor each won all three of their matches on the day with Mendoza taking his two bouts. Overall, 939 fans saw eight teams compete with ASU and No. 8 Missouri each going 3-0 on the day. ISU and No. 18 West Virginia each went 1-1 with Stanford, ERAU and No. 23 Cal Poly posting 1-2 marks. American finished 0-3.

ASU returns to action Friday and Saturday, Jan. 9-10, at the Virginia Duals in Hampton, Va. No. 3 Lehigh and No. 4 Nebraska will be on hand as the two highest-ranked teams in the field.

#11 Arizona State def. Embry-Riddle, 32-12
184 - #12 Nick Frost (ASU) won by tech fall over Jeoffry Landers (ERAU), 20-5 (4:55)
197 - #3 Ryan Bader (ASU) wom by major decision over Bob Charlton (ERAU), 12-2
285 - #11 Cain Velasquez (ASU) won by tech fall over Robert McConkie (ERAU), 17-1 (5:51)
125 - Christian Staylor (ASU) won by tech fall over Jared Tavasci (ERAU), 15-0 (4:33)
133 - Richard Byrd (ERAU) won by decision over Aaron Suzuki (ASU), 14-8
141 - Jeremy Mendoza (ASU) won by major decision over Eugene Garza (ERAU), 13-1
149 - #10 Patrick Williams (ASU) won by decision over Tyler Moran (ERAU), 7-3
157 - #10 Brian Stith (ASU) won by forfeit
165 - Morgan Scott (ERAU) won by disqualification over James Terry (ASU), DQ (5:46)
174 - David Rivera (ERAU) won by decision over Jason Trulson (ASU), 7-2

#11 Arizona State def. Stanford, 24-17
184 - #12 Nick Frost (ASU) won by major decision over John Garfinkel (SU), 12-4
197 - #3 Ryan Bader (ASU) won by tech fall over Ian Bork (SU), 18-2 (4:21)
285 - #11 Cain Velasquez (ASU) won by tech fall over Shawn Ritzenthaler (SU), 21-5 (7:00)
125 - Christian Staylor (ASU) won by decision over Tanner Gardner (SU), 6-3
133 - Mike Simpson (ASU) won by major decision over Paul Gross (SU), 12-3
141 - Brad Metzler (SU) won by forfeit
149 - #10 Patrick Williams (ASU) won by decision over Luis Vendrell (SU), 7-4
157 - #6 Matt Gentry (SU) won by decision over #10 Brian Stith (ASU), 2-0
165 - Brian Perry (SU) won by decision over Jamie Robbins (ASU), 3-2
174 - Imad Kharbush (SU) won by major decision over Jason Trulson (ASU), 9-0

#11 Arizona State def. #2 Iowa State, 22-20
184 - #12 Nick Frost (ASU) won by decision over #7 Kurt Backes (ISU), 6-2
197 - #3 Ryan Bader (ASU) won by decision over Trevor Smith (ISU), 5-1
285 - #11 Cain Velasquez (ASU) won by major decision over Richard Schopf (ISU), 21-8
125 - Christian Staylor (ASU) won by forfeit
133 - #5 Zach Roberson (ISU) won by decision over Mike Simpson (ASU), 4-1
141 - Jeremy Mendoza (ASU) won by decision over Jesse Sundell (ISU), 15-9
149 - #5 Trent Paulson (ISU) won by fall over #10 Patrick Williams (ASU), 4:19
157 - #10 Brian Stith (ASU) won by decision over Jason Knipp (ISU), 6-2
165 - #16 Nick Passolano (ISU) won by tech fall over Jamie Robbins (ASU), 17-2 (7:00)
174 - Kevin Amesquita (ISU) won by forfeit

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder