Kristen Rivera Named To The 2004 Women's Elite Softball Team

Jan. 9, 2004

SEATTLE - Junior catcher Kristen Rivera is one of 14 players selected to the 2004 Women's National Elite team, it was announced today by USA Softball. The team was chosen from the USA Softball player pool and will represent the U.S. in the 2004 Canada Cup, U.S. Champions Cup and other events to be scheduled.

The team includes 10 players from the Pac-10, including five from UCLA, three from Arizona and one from California and Washington. Eleven of the 14 members participated in the 2003 Women's College World Series.

Rivera, a two-time All-American, led the nation last season with 25 home runs, which set a Husky single-season record. She also led the Huskies with a .395 average, .859 slugging percentage and 71 runs batted in.

Coaching the 2004 USA Softball Elite team will be head coach Jay Miller (Mississippi State head coach). He will be assisted by Michelle Gromacki (Cal State Fullerton head coach) and Kirk Walker (Oregon State head coach).

Former Husky standout and three-time All-American, Jaime Clark, was named one of three alternates to join the 15-member USA National Team roster that will compete at the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, Greece.

Clark was among 18 players that competed for the USA National team last summer. A 2003 Pan American gold medallist, Clark hit .778 during the course of the tournament. At Washington, Clark set the school record for career home runs (73), while ranking second on the career charts in doubles (58), triples (13) and slugging percentage (.753).

Coaches for the 2004 USA Softball Women's Olympic Team will be head coach Mike Candrea (Arizona head coach) and assistant coaches Ken Eriksen (South Florida head coach) and John Rittman (Stanford head coach).

The 2004 USA Softball Elite team roster is as follows:

Monica Abbott (Salinas, CA, currently at Tennessee)
Caitlin Benyi (Scottsdale, AZ, currently at UCLA)
Autumn Champion (Tustin, CA, currently at Arizona)
Christina Clark (Santa Ana, CA, currently at Fresno State)
Norelle Dickson (Orange, CA, currently at Oklahoma)
Lisa Dodd (San Diego, CA, currently at UCLA)
Andrea Duran (Selma, CA, currently at UCLA)
Vicki Galindo (Union City, CA, currently at California)
Alicia Hollowell (Suisan, CA, currently at Arizona)
Jodie Legaspi (Garden Grove, CA, currently at UCLA)
Caitlin Lowe (Tustin, CA, currently at Arizona)
Kristen Rivera (Perris, CA, currently at Washington)
Jamie Southern (Clovis, CA, currently at Fresno State)
Emily Zaplatosch (Scottsdale, AZ, currently at UCLA)

2004 Olympic Team Roster

Laura Berg (Santa Fe Springs, CA, Fresno State)
Crystl Bustos (Canyon Country, CA, Palm Beach C.C.)
Lisa Fernandez (Long Beach, CA, UCLA)
Jennie Finch (La Mirada, CA, Arizona)
Tairia Flowersv(Tucson, AZ, UCLA)
Amanda Freed (Cypress, CA , UCLA)
Lori Harrigan (Las Vegas, NV , UNLV)
Lovieanne Jung (Fountain Valley, CA, Arizona)
Kelly Kretschman (Indian Harbour Beach, FL, Alabama)
Jessica Mendoza (Camarillo, CA, Stanford)
Leah O'Brien-Amico (Chino Hills, CA, Arizona)
Stacey Nuveman (La Verne, CA, UCLA)
Catherine Osterman (Houston, TX, Texas)
Jenny Topping (Whittier, CA, Cal State Fullerton)
Natasha Watley (Irvine, CA, UCLA)

2004 Olympic Team Alternates
Jaime Clark (Tustin, CA, Washington)
Nicole Giordano (Saugus, CA, Arizona)
Lauren Lappin (Anaheim, CA, Stanford)

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder