USC's National Champion Football, Volleyball and Water Polo Teams To Be Saluted At Jan. 21 Ceremony

Jan. 12, 2004

The 2003 national champion USC football, women's volleyball and men's water polo teams will be honored at a free public ceremony at noon on Wednesday, Jan. 21, at Cromwell Field on campus.

The three teams will begin the day being honored by the Los Angeles City Council at 10 a.m. at City Hall. The teams then will return to campus on double-decker buses, parading down Figueroa Street beginning at approximately 11:15 a.m.

USC President Steven Sample and Trojan athletic director Mike Garrett, along with the Trojan Marching Band and the USC Song Girls and Yell Leaders, will participate in the campus ceremony along with each squad's coaches and players. Each national championship trophy will be on display.

Additionally, the football team-which received its AP national championship trophy at Heritage Hall on Jan. 5-will be presented with two more national championship trophies: by the Football Writers Association of America (the Grantland Rice Trophy) and by The Sporting News.

In the span of less than 30 days, the three teams brought home national championships. It was the first time ever that USC won three national titles in the fall season.

The Trojan football team (12-1), which captured the AP national championship when it beat Michigan in the Rose Bowl, was led by All-American first teamers Mike Williams, Kenechi Udeze, Jacob Rogers, Matt Leinart and Tom Malone.

The Women of Troy volleyball team capped an undefeated (35-0) season when it beat Florida to capture its second consecutive NCAA crown. The team featured All-American first team picks April Ross, Emily Adams and Bibiana Candelas.

The USC men's water polo team (24-3), behind All-American first teamers Bozidar Damjanovic, Predrag Damjanov and Juraj Zatovic, beat Stanford to win its second-ever NCAA title.

All three squads featured coaches who were National Coach of the Year honorees (football's Pete Carroll, volleyball's Mick Haley and water polo's Jovan Vavic).

Besides the Jan. 21 ceremony, all three teams also will be honored separately by two other government bodies: the California Senate in Sacramento will salute representatives of each team, as will the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors. Dates of those presentations will be announced later.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network