No. 2 Stanford Wins 23rd Consecutive Pac-10 Swimming Championship

March 6, 2004

Long Beach, Calif. - In one of the most competitive conference meets in recent years, the second-ranked Stanford men's swimming team won an unprecedented 23rd consecutive Pac-10 Men's Swimming Championship today in Long Beach, Calif. The Cardinal won with 866.5 points, followed by Cal (773), Arizona (522.5), USC (505), ASU (407) and Washington (299).

'This is one of the hardest fought Pac-10 Championships in years,' said Stanford head coach Skip Kenney. 'I am so proud of this team and how they came together to do something no other team in this conference has ever done.'

In the first event of the evening, USC's Ous Mellouli claimed a victory in the 1650y free in 15:01.80, over Stanford's Shaun Phillips, 15:02.32. Mellouli and Phillips were neck and neck most of the race but Mellouli pulled away in the last 100 yards. Cardinal Mike McLean finished fourth, clocking in at 15:15.12 (NCAA consolation time).

Senior Markus Rogan won the 200y backstroke with a time of 1:40.97 to give the Cardinal their sixth consecutive title in the event and the third for Rogan in the event. Stanford took the top three spots in this event as Peter Marshall finished second (1:41.71) and Hongzhe Sun placed third (1:42.73). All three times were automatic qualifying times for NCAAs.

California's Duje Draganja won the 100y free in 41.96, breaking the Pac-10 meet record and giving him his second title in the event (the first in 2002). Stanford's Bobby O'Bryan was the Cardinal's top finisher, taking sixth in a time of 43.98 (NCAA consolation time). Teammate Andrew Schnell was seventh (44.06) followed by Ben Wildman-Tobriner (43.65).

Washington's Phil Davis won the 200y breaststroke in 1:54.45, while Cardinal Bruce Michael placed third, clocking in an NCAA qualifying time of 1:56.57. Teammate Gary Marshall placed seventh (1:58.31).

Stanford's Jayme Cramer won the 200y butterfly with a time of 1:43.87. The victory was the fourth in the last five years in the meet for the Cardinal. Matt McDonald took third (1:44.92) in an NCAA automatic qualifying time. Teammate Dan Trupin was fifth (1:47.20).

Closing out the night, California's 400y free relay team consisting ofRolandas Gimbutis, Jonas Tilly, Milorad Cavic and Draganja, won with a time of2:52.75 over Arizona (2:53.39). The Stanford quartet of Ben Wildman-Tobriner, Peter Marshall, Bobby O'Bryan and Andrew Schnell finished third in an NCAA qualifying time of 2:53.62.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder