Sara McGee Awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

March 8, 2004

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA has awarded 58 postgraduate scholarships of 7,500 dollars each to 29 male student-athletes and 29 female student-athletes who participated in fall sports, which included women's badminton (emerging sport), men's and women's cross country, women's field hockey, football, men's and women's soccer, women's volleyball, and men's water polo.

Stanford senior middle blocker Sara McGee (Davis, Calif.) is one of only 29 female student-athletes to receive the honor. Of the 29 recipients, only five were Division I volleyball players. McGee was a 2002 AVCA first-team All-American and a 2003 CoSIDA District VIII Academic All-American. She ended her career with 857 kills and 432 blocks. Her 2002 season hitting percentage of .426 was the best in school history.

In addition to the fall sport honorees, the NCAA also awards 116 postgraduate scholarships to student-athletes participating in winter and spring sports in which the NCAA conducts championships or participates in as an emerging sport, for a total of 174 postgraduate scholarships annually.

To qualify for an NCAA postgraduate scholarship, a student-athlete must have an overall grade-point average of 3.200 (on a 4.000 scale) or its equivalent and must have performed with distinction as a member of the varsity team in the sport in which the student-athlete was nominated. The student-athlete must have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics. The student-athlete also must intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time or part-time graduate student.

Nomination forms are sent to faculty athletics representatives for fall sports in September. Notifications for winter sports are sent in November and notifications for spring sports are sent in January. Selections are made three times each academic year. The application must be submitted during the appropriate seasonal category for the sport to the appropriate regional selection committee chair. Candidates are screened by seven regional selection committees, and the award recipients are selected by the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee.

For more information about the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Program, go to, then click on Education Programs, Grants & Research.

courtesy of NCAA

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder