Channing Frye and Andre Iguodala Earn USBWA All-District Honors

March 9, 2004

TUCSON, Ariz. - University of Arizona men's basketball players Channing Frye and Andre Iguodala were named all-district in voting released Tuesday by the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Frye and Iguodala were among 11 players named to the USBWA all-District 9 team, which covers the states of Arizona, Alaska, California, Oregon and Washington. Arizona was one of three teams to have two players earn all-district accolades.

Frye, a 6-foot-11, 248-pound center from Phoenix, Ariz., is averaging 15.8 points, 7.3 rebounds and a Pacific-10 Conference-leading 2.1 blocked shots per game through 27 games this season. The junior has connected on 54.6 percent (172-of-315) of his field goal attempts and has five double-doubles in 2003-04. Frye also earned all-Pac-10 Conference honors on Monday. It is the first time he has been recognized by the USBWA.

Iguodala, a 6-foot-6, 207-pound forward from Springfield, Ill., is averaging 12.7 points, 8.8 rebounds and 5.1 assists per game. The sophomore is the only player in the Pac-10 to be ranked among the league leaders in points, rebounds, assists, steals and assist:turnover ratio. He has 10 double-doubles to his credit, including three triple-doubles. Iguodala and California's Jason Kidd are the only players in league history to register three or more triple-doubles in a single season. Iguodala also earned all-Pac-10 honors Monday. It is the first time he has been recognized by the USBWA.

No. 21 Arizona (19-8, 11-7 Pac-10) opens play in the 2004 Pacific Life Pac-10 Tournament on Thursday, March 11. The Wildcats take on USC at approximately 8:45 p.m. PST. The game can be seen nationally on Fox Sports Net.

United States Basketball Writers
2004 All-District 9 Team

Josh Childress, Stanford
Ike Diogu, Arizona State
Channing Frye, Arizona
Chris Hernandez, Stanford
Andre Iguodala, Arizona
Luke Jackson, Oregon
Michael Kuebler, Hawaii
Brandon Roy, Washington
Aerick Sanders, San Diego State
Blake Stepp, Gonzaga
Ronny Turiaf, Gonzaga

District 9 Player of the Year: Blake Stepp, Gonzaga
District 9 Coach of the Year: Mike Montgomery, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder