Stanford Begins Three-Day NCAA Zone E Diving Meet Thursday

March 10, 2004

2004 NCAA Zone E Meet, Oklahoma City, OK - Diving Only
Thursday-Saturday, March 11-13

Women's 1-Meter (Noon, CST)

Women's 3-Meter (Noon, CST)

Women's Platform (11 am, CST)

* The Stanford women's diving team will participate in the 2004 NCAA Zone E Meet this Thursday-Saturday, March 11-13 * The three-day event will be hosted by Air Force and held in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma * The women's competition begins with the 1-meter event on Thursday, followed by Friday's 3-meter and Saturday's platform events * The divers will be attempting to join 13 of Stanford's women's swimmers who have already qualified for the 2004 NCAA Championships set for March 18-20 in College Station, Texas * Stanford's divers helped the Cardinal win its 15th title at the Pac-10 Championships in its most recent action February 26-28 with eight Top 10 finishes in three events, tied with UCLA for the most Top 10 showings by divers in the meet

  • The Stanford women's swimming and diving team finished the dual meet season with a 5-2 overall record and was 3-2 in Pac-10 dual meets
  • Stanford finished the dual meet season ranked fifth in the CSCAA national poll
  • Stanford had won 15 straight dual meets before falling to Auburn.


  • Stanford has four women's divers (Sara Bowling, Cassidy Krug, Erin Lashnits, Ashlee Rosenthal) scheduled to compete in the meet
  • Krug was the only Stanford diver to capture an individual title at the 2004 Pac-10 Championships with a victory in the 1-meter event, while also finishing second in the 3-meter
  • Bowling finished second in the platform and seventh in the 3-meter at the Pac-10's
  • Rosenthal was third in the 1-meter and sixth in the 3-meter at the Pac-10's
  • Lashnits was fifth in the platform, 10th in the 1-meter and 14th in the 3-meter at the Pac-10's
  • Krug also won a total of five regular season individual events, while Rosenthal captured four and Bowling one
  • Krug was a 1-meter winner versus California (11/12/03), at UCLA (1/30/04) and at USC (1/31/04), while taking the 3-meter at USC and versus California (2/14/04)
  • Rosenthal won the 1-meter versus Arizona (1/24/04) and California (2/14/04), as well as the 3-meter against both Arizona (1/24/04) and Arizona State (1/23/04)
  • Bowling was an individual regular season winner in the 3-meter against California (11/12/03).


  • Stanford has won eight NCAA titles (1983, '89, '92, '93, '94, '95, '96, '98) and nine national championships (AIAW title in 1980) overall with six in the last 12 seasons
  • Stanford has also finished second nationally 11 times and third on seven other occasions, finishing out of the nation's top three only twice in school history and never lower than the eighth-place showing the Cardinal made in its first season (1974-75)
  • Stanford finished in the top three for 27 consecutive seasons (1976-2002) prior to taking sixth at the 2003 NCAA Championships
  • Stanford has also won 15 of the 18 Pac-10 Championships contested, reclaiming the team title in 2004 after winning just once in the previous four years
  • Stanford won the Pac-10 title in each of the first 13 years of the event from 1987-99
  • Stanford has an all-time dual meet record of 224-20 (.918) and is currently in its 30th year of competition without ever losing more than two dual meets in a season
  • Stanford has claimed 76 individual NCAA titles, 40 NCAA relay crowns, 149 Pac-10 individual championships and 61 Pac-10 relay titles
  • Stanford has had 87 All-Americans earn 705 All-American honors since Richard Quick began coaching the program in 1988.

    1. Auburn (8), 2. Georgia, 3. Florida, 4. California, 5. Stanford, 6. Arizona, 7. UCLA, 8. Texas, 9. Wisconsin, 10. SMU, 11. Penn State, 12. Indiana, 13. Texas A&M, 14. Maryland, 15. North Carolina, 16. Michigan, 17. USC, 18. Florida State, 19. Virginia, 20. Notre Dame, 21. Missouri, 22. Arizona State, 23. Princeton, 24. Hawaii, 25. Minnesota ... First-place votes in parenthesis.

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    10:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network