Puhakka, Tumlinson Win Diving Titles At Zone E Meet

March 11, 2004

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - The NCAA Zone E Diving Regionals got underway on Thursday afternoon with Arizona State divers claiming victories in both events held at the Oklahoma City Community College Aquatic Center. Sophomore All-American Joona Puhakka won the men's 3m while junior All-American Trisha Tumlinson won the women's 1m to continue where they left off at the Pac-10 Diving Championships where the pair each captured two titles (Puhakka - 1m, 3m; Tumlinson - 3m, platform).

Puhakka's victory on the 3m came by over 70 points as he totaled a score of 596.95 to win the event for the second year running at the Zone meet. Juniors Gordon Blukis (453.00) and Thomas McCrummen (443.40) finished 10th and 11th respectively while sophomore Brant Bingham (434.35) placed 14th.

Tumlinson won the 1m title with a score of 564.70. Senior Jessica Stenson placed 11th (465.80) and freshman Cassidy Farwell finished 18th (407.25). Action continues tomorrow at the Zone meet with the men on the 1m and the women on the 3m.

Men's 3M FinalsPlace	Score	Diver	Affiliation1	596.95	Joona Puhakka	Arizona State2	522.35	Josh Anderson	Arizona3	499.75	Ray Vincent	USC4	487.45	Michael Hilde	USC5	485.45	Louie Gagnet	California6	482.40	Michael Gowdy	Hawai'i7	472.90	Justin Beardall	BYU8	467.85	Sterling Richards	Utah9	454.25	Scott Randall	BYU10	453.00	Gordon Blukis	Arizona State11	443.40	Thomas McCrummen	Arizona State12	441.15	Robbie Quinn	California13	440.20	John Collier	Arizona14	434.35	Brant Bingham	Arizona State15	433.70	Kenny Jenkins	USC16	433.20	Kevin McLean	Stanford17	425.60	Anton Slobounov	UC Irvine18	424.95	Jonthan Coyle	Hawai'i19	246.40	Alex Vollelunga	Arizona20	246.40	Nathaniel Dean	California21	243.55	Justin Wilcox	Hawai'i22	242.75	Ben Chapman	Air Force23	241.40	 Kevin Bretting	Wyoming24	235.05	J.J. Aderholt	Arizona25	233.50	Adam Miller	Wyoming26	194.75	John Lynch	Wyoming

Womens's 1M FinalsPlace Score Diver Affiliation1 564.70 Trisha Tumlinson Arizona State2 538.15 Qiong Jie Huang Hawai'i3 533.95 Mary Yarrison Arizona4 532.65 Ashlee Rosenthal Stanford5 524.35 Cassidy Krug Stanford6 513.65 Becca Barras New Mexico7 477.85 Maggie Roberts Hawai'i8 477.25 Paige Thompson UCLA9 471.20 Amanda Blong UCLA10 470.65 Devon Owen Nevada11 465.80 Jessica Stenson Arizona State12 458.65 Blair Buder Northern Arizona13 451.75 Tracey Berghian New Mexico14 451.20 Sara Clark UCLA15 449.70 Daniela Bemme Arizona16 439.50 Janine Strack UCLA17 429.30 Erin Lashnits Stanford18 407.25 Cassidy Farwell Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder