Teams Announced for NCAA Gymnastics Central Regional

March 22, 2004

The field of competitors for the NCAA Central Regional Gymnastics Championships to be hosted by LSU, April 2, at the Maravich Center in baton Rouge was announced Monday by the NCAA.

The top-18 teams in the nation were seeded throughout the country at the six predetermined regional sites.

LSU, who finished the regular season at No. 7 in the national rankings will play host to No. 6 BYU, No. 17 Arizona State, No. 23 Auburn, No. 24 Kent State and Michigan State.

In addition to the six teams competing, five individual all-arounders as well as three individual event specialists will be on hand.

Sara Burtinsky and Kara Reighard of Central Michigan, Melissa Popovich of Bowling Green, Michelle Gales of Kentucky and Elizabeth Meaney of Ohio State earned all-around berths to the regional meet. Tiffanie Janke of Ohio State will compete on both the vault and beam, while Kristina Menne will compete on the bars and Brooke Morari will compete on the floor.

Tickets are now on sale for the NCAA Central Regional Championships. They can be purchased at the LSU Ticket Office, on the first floor of the LSU Athletic Administration Building, online at, or over the phone at (225) 578-2184. Tickets are $8 for adults and $5 for students (college age or younger).


West Region - April 3 at Corvallis, Oregon (Oregon State)1. Alabama2. Oregon State3. Oklahoma4. California5. Boise State6. Cal State Fullerton

North Central Region - April 3 at Denver, Colorado (University of Denver)1. Stanford2. Washington3. Denver4. Iowa5. Minnesota6. Southern Utah

South Central Region - April 3 at Tucson, Arizona (University of Arizona)1. Utah2. Florida3. Arizona4. Arkansas5. Illinois6. Illinois-Chicago

Central Region - April 2 at Baton Rouge, Louisiana (LSU)1. BYU2. LSU3. Arizona State4. Auburn5. Kent State6. Michigan State

Northeast Region - April 3 at University Park, Pennsylvania (Penn State)1. Georgia2. Iowa State3. Missouri4. Michigan5. Penn State6. New Hampshire

Southeast Region - April 3 at Raleigh, North Carolina (NC State)1. UCLA2. North Carolina3. Nebraska4. West Virginia5. North Carolina State6. Maryland

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder