This Week in Pac-10 Men's Basketball

March 22, 2004

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The OREGON Ducks rallied behind Luke Jackson and knocked off Colorado in overtime to advance to the second round of the NIT. Jackson scored 40 points, including 29 straight points for the Ducks in the second half and overtime ... While ARIZONA, STANFORD and WASHINGTON did not make it past the first weekend of the NCAA Tournament - it could be a good omen for the Ducks. The last time the Pac-10 did not have a team advance to the NCAA Sweet Sixteen was in 1999. That season, both Oregon and California advanced to New York City for the NIT semifinals with California capturing the NIT title.


Tues., Mar. 23
Post Season NIT
George Mason at OREGON, 8:30 p.m. ESPN2

Thur., Mar. 25
Post Season NIT Quarterfinals
George Mason/OREGON winner vs. Saint Louis/Notre Dame winner
(site and time to be determined)

Times listed are local to site.


Three Pac-10 teams participated in the NCAA Tournament - the fewest in NCAA postseason play for the Pac-10 since three teams participated in the 1993 championships. However, in the 10 years following the 1993 championships, the Pac-10 has posted a record of 74-47 (.612) in NCAA Tournament play. That includes national titles by UCLA (1995) and Arizona (1997), and Final Four appearances by Arizona (1994, 2001) and Stanford (1998).


The Pac-10 has a team in the NIT for the first time since the 2002 season. Since 1999, the Pac-10 is 12-6 (.667) in the NIT. The Pac-10 has captured the NIT title three times - UCLA (1985), Stanford (1991) and California (1999).

OREGON is making its ninth appearance in the NIT, the most by any Pac-10 team. The Ducks are 9-9 (.500) in NIT action. In its last NIT appearance, Oregon went 3-2, reaching the 1999 NIT semifinals in Madison Square Garden. Coach Ernie Kent made three NIT appearances as a player with the Ducks - 1975-77. As a coach and player, Kent is 8-5 (.615) all-time in NIT action.


ARIZONA - The Wildcats made their 20th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance - the longest active streak in the NCAA ... Posted its 17th consecutive 20-win season ... Its's the 20th consecutive season in which Arizona has posted a winning record in Pac-10 play ... During the season, coach Lute Olson posted his 700th career win (Jan. 3 at ASU) and became Arizona's all-time victory leaders (510) on Jan. 17 at UCLA ... The Wildcats have a pair of 1,000-point career scorers in JR guard Salim Stoudamire (1,298) and JR center Channing Frye (1,205) ... Arizona set a Pac-10 record for free throw percentage, shooting 78.6 percent ... Frye and SO forward Andre Iguodala earned USBWA All-District 9 Team honors.

ARIZONA STATE - SO forward Ike Diogu has scored in double digits in all 59 career games, the best active streak in the nation. Diogu established a Pac-10 single-season record with 243 made free throws, eclipsing the mark of 237 set by Oregon State's mel Counts in 1964 ... His 423 career made free throws is an ASU record ... The Sun Devils used 13 different lineups during the season ... Diogu earned USBWA All-District 9 Honors.

CALIFORNIA - The Bears started a lineup that consisted of three freshmen, a sophomore and a senior ... The freshman and sophomore class accounted for 76.5 percent of the team's scoring and 72.4 percent of its rebounds this season ... Pac-10 Freshman of the Year Leon Powe became the first freshman to lead the Pac-10 in rebounding (9.5 rpg). He also posted 14 double-doubles.

OREGON - SR forward Luke Jackson became the first player in school history with three consecutive 500-point seasons. He also became the second player in Pac-10 history, joining former Arizona All-American Sean Elliott, to record 1,800 points, 700 rebounds and 400 assists in a career ... SR guard James Davis nailed 82 three-pointers this season - fifth best single-season total in school history. His 238 career three-pointers rank second all-time on the school's list ... Oregon has led the Pac-10 in three-point field goal percentage each of the last three seasons ... Jackson earned USBWA All-District 9 Team honors ... Tuesday's game with George Mason marks the 1,000th game that Oregon has played at McArthur Court. The Ducks are 643-356 all-time at Mac. McArthur Court opened in 1927 and is the second-oldest Division I facility in the nation; Fordham's Rose Hill Gym is the only one that is older.

OREGON STATE - SO guard Chris Stephens finished the season with 76 three-pointers - second best single-season total in school history. Only Gary Payoton connected for more with 82 in 1989 ... All-Pac-10 JR forward David Lucas led the Beavers in scoring with 17.2 ppg. He and Stephens (15.8 ppg) are the first pair of OSU players to average better than 15.0 points per game in the same season since 1995.

STANFORD - Stanford made its 10th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance and won its first round game for the 10th consecutive year ... The Cardinal are one of seven teams to finish Pac-10 play at 17-1. It's the 11th Pac-10 crown for Stanford, and its fourth in six years ... It's the 10th consecutive 20-win seasons for the Cardinal ... Stanford has finished no lower than second in each of the last eight seasons of Pac-10 play ... The Cardinal ran off a school record 26-game winning streak ... Ten players averaged 10 or more minutes per game, while five players averaged 10 or more points per game ... The Cardinal have a pair of 1,000-point career scorers in SR guard Matt Lottich (1,081) and JR forward Josh Childress (1,061) ... SO guard Chris Hernandez led the league in free throw percentage (.914) and three-point field goal percentage (.460) ... Hernandez and Childress were named to the USBWA All-District 9 Team. Coach Mike Montgomery was USBWA District 9 Coach of the Year.

UCLA - SR forward T. J. Cummings became the 44th player in UCLA history to record 1,000 points in a career, finishing with 1,062 points ... FR forward Trevor Ariza was second among all Pac-10 freshmen, averaging 6.5 rebounds per game ... JR guard Cedric Bozeman led the league in assists (5.54 apg).

USC - All-Pac-10 SR guard Desmon Farmer concluded his career with 1,606 points (fourth on USC's career list) and his 203 career three-pointers rank second all-time at USC ... Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year JR forward Jeff McMillan set a USC single-season record for field goal accuracy, shooting a league-leading 119-of-189 (.630) from the field ... JR guard Errick Craven led the league in steals for the third consecutive season. Former Oregon State All-American Gary Payton is the only other player in Pac-10 history to lead the league in steals three straight seasons.

WASHINGTON - The Huskies made their first NCAA Tournament since 1999 ... At 12-6 in league play, the Huskies recorded their most wins in Pac-10 play since posting a 13-5 record in 1986 ... The Huskies have received balanced scoring of late as five players have each scored in double digits in six of the last seven games ... SO guard Nate Robinson earned Pac-10 All-Tournament honors by averaging 16.0 points, 5.3 rebounds, 5.7 assists and 2.3 steals in three games ... Washington is averaging 88.1 points in its 19 wins, 71.5 points in its 11 losses ... SO guard Brandon Roy was named to the USBWA All-District 9 Team.

WASHINGTON STATE - The Cougars tallied seven Pac-10 wins after winning just six of its last 44 Pac-10 games entering the 2003-04 season ... WSU was 4-5 in Pac-10 road games. Prior to the season, it had won just four league road games in its previous 64 Pac-10 road contests ... SR guard Marcus Moore concluded his WSU career fifth in scoring (1,458 points) and assists (421) ... JR guard Thomas Kelati collected 71 three-pointers on the year - the seventh best single-season total in WSU history. His 151 career three-pointers rank fifth on the school's all-time list.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder