Women's Golf Set For Pac-10 Championships

April 16, 2004

Los Angeles -

Pac-10 Women's Golf History
Download Free Acrobat Reader


The No. 8 USC women's golf team--the defending NCAA champion--looks continue its strong play of late as it competes in the 2004 Pac-10 Women's Golf Championships on April 19-21 (Mon.-Wed.)at Saticoy Country Club in Somis, Calif.

The format includes 54 holes of medal and team play. Continuous tee times begin at 8:30 a.m. each day from the first and 10th tees. Admission and parking for the tournament are free.

Results will be posted on Golfstat's live scoring page and continue throughout the event. Visit www.golfstat.com for live scoring updates. A link will also be provided at usctrojans.com.


USC has seven top-10 finishes so far this season (including four top five showings) and is just coming off a season-best second place at the Ping/ASU Invitational.


Sophomore Irene Cho leads the Women of Troy this season with a stroke average of 74.70 and four top-20 finishes, including the individual title at the Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational. She is ranked 13th overall. She is joined by fellow sophomore Tanya Dergal, who is second on the team with a stroke average of 75.40. Dergal recently finished tied for fourth at the Betsy Rawls Invitational. In the third spot with a stroke average of 75.67 is freshman Veronica Felibert, who won the individual title at the Lady Puerto Rico Classic. Rounding out the top six are senior Rachel Bell (76.62), freshman Catalina Marin (77.71) and senior Anna Rawson (78.40).


At last year's Pac-10s (hosted by Oregon State), the Women of Troy finished fourth at 903 (+39), 11 strokes behind team champion California. American Mikaela Parmlid was second individually, one stroke behind Vikki Laing of California.


USC women have won two Pac-10 individual championships. Jennifer Biehn won in 1994 and Candie Kung won in 2000.

Pac-10 Championships Quick Facts

Host: UCLA

Where: Saticoy Country Club, Somis, CA

Par/Yardage: 72/6,379

Dates: April 19-21, 2004

Format: 54-holes of team and stroke play.

Participating Teams: UCLA (host), Arizona, Arizona State, California, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, USC, Washington, Washington State

Defending Champion: California

Directions (from LAX): San Diego Fwy (405) North to Ventura Fwy(101) West. Proceed on the Ventura Fwy to Central Ave. exit; north two miles to Santa Clarita Ave.; right 1.25 miles to Los Angeles Ave. (Hwy 118); left 0.5 miles to the club.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network