Arizona Edges Arizona State, 4-3

April 17, 2004

TUCSON, Ariz. - The No. 40 Arizona women's tennis team (6-12, 2-6) closed out the regular season by taking on No. 41 Arizona State (6-14, 1-7) at home. Arizona won the doubles point by winning two of three doubles matches. Arizona then went on to win in the first three positions, giving the Wildcats a 4-3 win over intra-state rival Arizona State.

In doubles action, junior Kelly Perry and freshman Jessie Rochefort teamed up to defeat Arizona State's team of Rebecca Rankin and Joslynn Burkett, 8-3. Arizona State then defeated Arizona's team of senior Debbie Larocque and freshman Kasia Jakowlew, 8-2. The match to decide the doubles point came on court 1 where Arizona's team of juniors Dianne Hollands and Maja Mlakar defeated Arizona State's team of Lauren Colalillo and Kady Pooler, 8-6. The two wins gave Arizona the doubles point, as well as the early lead over Arizona State.

Later in the day, junior Dianne Hollands came away with a win in the first singles position against Arizona State's Joslynn Burkett, 6-3, 6-1. The Wildcats also won in the second position as Maja Mlakar defeated Wendy Pilecka, 6-3, 6-3. On court 5, freshman Jessie Rochefort lost to Sabrina Capannolo, 6-1, 6-4. Sophomore Iza Ferreira was unable to come away with a win as she lost to Arizona State's Kady Pooler, 6-3, 6-3. This left Arizona with a 3-2 lead with two matches yet to be completed. Playing in the final home match of her Arizona career, senior Debbie Larocque lost the first set 6-1. Larocque came behind from 4-1 to win the second set. She then lost the third set for a final score of 6-1, 4-6, 6-3. This left the match at a 3-3 tie. Once again the Wildcats looked to junior Kelly Perry to win the deciding match. Perry played in the third position for the first time this season. After loosing the first set 7-6, Perry came back to win the second and third sets to give the Wildcats a win over the Sun Devils for the second time this season.

Arizona will next head to the Pac-10 Outdoor Championships in Ojai, Calif. The tournament will begin on April 22 and will conclude on April 25.


ResultsDoubles:1.	Maja Mlakar/ Dianne Hollands (UA) def. Lauren Colalillo/ Kady Pooler (ASU), 8-6.2.	Cindy Sureephong/ Wendy Pilecka (ASU) def. Debbie Larocque/ Kasia Jakowlew (UA), 8-2.3.	Jessie Rochefort/ Kelly Perry (UA) def. Joslynn Burkett/ Rebecca Rankin (ASU), 8-3.

Singles:1. Dianne Hollands (UA) def. Joslynn Burkett (ASU), 6-3, 6-1.2. Maja Mlakar (UA) def. Wendy Pilecka (ASU), 6-3, 6-3.3. Kelly Perry (UA) def. Cindy Sureephong (ASU), 6-7, 6-3, 6-4.4. Lauren Colalillo (ASU) def. Debbie Larocque (UA), 6-1, 4-6, 6-3.5. Sabrina Capannolo (ASU) def. Jessie Rochefort (UA), 6-1, 6-4.6. Kady Pooler (ASU) def. Iza Ferreira (UA), 6-3, 6-3.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder