Pac-10 Tennis Championships This Week

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


PACIFIC-10 INDIVIDUAL CHAMPIONSHIPS: The Pac-10's nine women's teams and eight men's teams head to Ojai, Calif., Thurs., April 22 through Sun., April 25, to decide the league's singles and doubles champions. The 32-player men's singles draw shall consist of four student-athletes from each school, and the 16-team doubles draw shall consist of two doubles teams from each school. For the women, the 32-player singles draw shall consist of three players from each of the nine schools that sponsor women's tennis, with five additional competitors selected by a committee of coaches, based upon the participants record. The 16-team doubles draw will have one doubles team from each school and seven additional teams selected by the committee, based upon the participants record.

WHAT & WHERE: Pac-10 competition will be held in conjunction with the 104th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament. The Pac-10 men will compete at Libbey Park in Ojai for all rounds. The Pac-10 women will play at the Ojai Valley Inn Tennis Center Thurs., April 22, and at Libbey Park on Fri., April 23. All semifinal and final matches on Sat., April 24, and Sun., April 25, are at Libbey Park. Matches begin at 8 a.m., with two rounds of singles on opening day. One round of singles and two rounds of doubles will be played on Friday. Semifinals and finals will be held at a time yet to be determined.

OJAI HISTORY: The Ojai, as it is known in tennis circles, is the oldest amateur tennis tournament in the United States and has been interrupted only five years since its inception - in 1924 by hoof and mouth disease and four years during World War II. Pac-10 schools have competed in intercollegiate events in 92 of The Ojai's 102 tournaments beginning in 1911. Championship medals are awarded in both singles and doubles and the winner's names are inscribed on permanent trophies displayed each year at the tournament. Last year's singles winners were UCLA's Marcin Matkowski and Oregon's Daria Panova. Doubles winners were USC's Parker Collins and Daniel Langre on the men's side and Cal's Christina Fusano and Raquel Kops-Jones for the women.

MEDIA CONTACT: Sam Eaton will serve as the Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament coordinator. All media requests can be forwarded to him at (805) 963-2014, or During tennis competition, Eaton can be reached at the Ojai Tournament desk, (805) 646-7241. Results will be posted at, as well as on the Pac-10 website:

PAC-10 INDIVIDUAL AWARDS: Individual awards, including the Player of the Year, Doubles Team of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year, will be awarded after the conclusion of the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai and released from the Conference office on Wed., May 5.

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS: The NCAA Men's Tennis Regionals are May 14-16 on campus sites, and the Men's Tennis Championships are in Tulsa, Okla., May 22-31. The NCAA Women's Tennis Regionals are May 14-16 on campus sites, with the NCAA Women's Tennis Championships held in Athens, Ga., May 19-28.

PAC-10 MEN: 20 Pac-10 singles players are ranked in the ITA Top-125 national men's singles rankings (as of April 6). Seven of the eight Conference teams are represented by individuals, with UCLA's senior Tobias Clemens earning the highest ranking of No. 4 in the nation. The Trojans and Bruins lead the way with five individuals each in the Top-125.

ARIZONA: No. 96 Roger Matalonga (So.)
CALIFORNIA: No. 14 Conor Niland (Jr.); No. 57 Balazs Veress (Sr.); No. 118 Wayne Wong (Sr.)
OREGON: No. 35 Sven Swinnen (Jr.); No. 88 Manuel Kost (Jr.)
STANFORD: No. 85 James Wan (Fr.); No. 110 KC Corkery (So.)
UCLA: No. 4 Tobias Clemens (Sr.); No. 52 Alberto Francis (Jr.); No. 62 Krzysztof Kwinta (Jr.); No. 82 Chris Lam (Jr.); No. 106 Philipp Gruendler (Fr.)
USC: No. 23 Adriano Biasella (Sr.); No. 73 Johan Berg (Jr.); No. 83 Jamil Al-Agba (Fr.); No. 94 Drew Hoskins (Jr.); No. 95 Ruben Torres (Sr.)
WASHINGTON: No. 9 Alex Vlaski (Jr.); No. 42 Alex Slovic (Fr.)

In doubles, Pac-10 men's teams occupy eight spots among the Top-60, with a ranked duo representative of six different schools. Washington and Stanford lead the way with two ranked teams each. UCLA's tandem of Alberto Francis and Krzysztof Kwinta is the eighth highest ranked doubles duo in the nation.

ARIZONA: No. 48 Colin O'Grady/Roger Matalonga
CALIFORNIA:No. 21 Balazs Veress/ Patrick Briaud
STANFORD: No. 23 Sam Warburg/ KC Corkery; No. 34 Carter Morris/ Sam Warburg
UCLA: No. 8 Alberto Francis/ Krzysztof Kwinta
USC: No. 12 Daniel Langre/ Drew Hoskins
WASHINGTON: No. 37 Alex Vlaski/ Alex Slovic; No. 43 Alex Vlaski/ Daniel Chu

PAC-10 WOMEN: The Pac-10 women hold down 23 spots on the ITA's Top-125 singles rankings list through April 6. Of the Top-25 players ranked, nine players are ranked, more than any other conference. Eight Conference teams are represented by individuals, with senior Raquel Kops-Jones of California with the highest ranking at No. 4. Stanford leads the way with seven players ranked.

ARIZONA: No. 17 Dianne Hollands (Jr.); No. 111 Maja Mlakar (Jr.)
ARIZONA STATE: No. 88 Joslynn Burkett (So.)
CALIFORNIA: No. 4 Raquel Kops-Jones (Sr.); No. 31 Sasha Podkolzina (Fr.); No. 120 Jieun Jacobs (Sr.)
OREGON: No. 7 Daria Panova (So.)
STANFORD: No. 10 Amber Liu (So.); No. 22 Erin Burdette (Jr.); No. 35 Theresa Logar (Fr.); No. 43 Lauren Barnikow (Sr.); No. 65 Story Tweedie-Yates (Jr.); No. 75 Emilia Anderson (Sr.); No. 87 Anne Yelsey (Fr.)
UCLA: No. 16 Jackie Carleton (So.); No. 52 Daniela Bercek (Fr.)
USC: No. 15 Luana Magnani (Jr.); No. 54 Carine Vermeulen (So.); No. 95 Anca Anastasiu (Fr.)
WASHINGTON: No. 20 Dea Sumantri (So.); No. 29 Claire Carter (Jr.); No. 53 Erin Hoe (Sr.)

In doubles, Pac-10 women's teams hold 13 spots among the Top-60, with eight schools represented. For the second straight year, the Cardinal tandem of Lauren Barnikow and Erin Burdette are the top-ranked doubles team in the nation heading into the Pac-10's.

ARIZONA: No. 9 Maja Mlakar/ Dianne Hollands
ARIZONA STATE: No. 55 Cindy Sureephong/ Wendy Pilecka; No. 58 Kady Pooler/ Rebecca RankinCALIFORNIA: No. 14 Raquel Kops-Jones/Jieun Jacobs; No. 40 Nicole Havlicek/ Jody Scheldt
OREGON: No. 43 Courtney Nagle/Daria Panova
STANFORD: No. 1 Lauren Barnikow/Erin Burdette; No. 48 Emilia Anderson/ Anne Yelsey; No. 50 Amber Liu/ Alice Barnes
UCLA: No. 11 Lauren Fisher/ Jackie Carleton; No. 26 Feriel Esseghir/ Jackie Carleton
USC: No. 16 Luana Magnani/ Carine Vermeulen
WASHINGTON: No. 4 Claire Carter/ Dea Sumantri

Pac-10 Individual Singles Champions

1987, Patrick McEnroe, STAN
1988, Brian Garrow, UCLA
1989, Pat Galbraith, UCLA
1990, Jason Netter, UCLA
1991, Alex O'Brien, STAN
1992, Alex O'Brien, STAN
1993, Fritz Bissell, UCLA
1994, Wayne Black, USC
1995, Scott Humphries, STAN
1996, Adam Peterson, USC
1997, Bob Bryan, STAN
1998, Paul Goldstein, STAN
1999, Ryan Wolters, STAN
2000, Geoff Abrams, STAN
2001, Ryan Moore, USC
2002, Rodrigo Grilli, UCLA
2003, Marcin Matkowski, UCLA

1987, Jane Thomas, UCLA
1988, Lisa Green, STAN
1989, Sandra Birch, STAN
1990, Debra Graham, STAN
1991, Sandra Birch, STAN
1992, Alix Creek, ARIZ
1993, Alix Creek, ARIZ
1994, Sandra DeSilva, STAN
1995, Keri Phebus, UCLA
1996, Julie Scott, STAN
1997, Julie Scott, STAN
1998, Annica Cooper, UCLA
1999, Mariss Irvin, STAN
2000, Sara Walker, UCLA
2001, Adria Engle, ASU
2002, Gabriela Lastra, STAN
2003, Daria Panova, ORE

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network