Rowing Looks to Defend Miller Cup

April 21, 2004

Los Angeles - The UCLA women's rowing team competes in the 29th Annual Norman P. Miller Cup Women's Invitational Regatta this Saturday, Apr. 24, at Ballona Creek. The Miller Cup is hosted by the UCLA men's rowing team to generate revenue for its program. Preliminary heats will start in the late morning, and the finals will start in the early afternoon.

Loyola Marymount, San Diego State, University of San Diego, UC Irvine, and Orange Coast are expected to compete on Saturday. Teams will enter boats in the Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight, Varsity Four, and Novice Eight events. The winner of each preliminary heat and the boat with the next fastest time advances to the Grand Finals. Lanes 1 and 2 will be assigned by random draw to heat winners. Petite Final lanes will be assigned by random draw. All races will be 1750 meters due to expected tidal conditions.

The first race will start at 10:00 a.m., and the last race is scheduled for 1:12 p.m. The winner of Varsity Eight Grand Final will be presented the 2004 Miller Cup.

Miller Cup Notes
The Miller Cup, now in its 29th year, still remains one of UCLA's oldest and valued traditions. It was established in 1976 in honor of then vice-chancellor Dr. Norman P. Miller for his commitment and dedication to UCLA women's rowing.

UCLA has won the Miller Cup 14 times in the last 28 years, including 11 straight from 1980-1990. UCLA claimed its 14th Miller Cup title last season as the Bruins defeated USD and LMU in the Varsity Eight Grand Final.

A Look at the Opponents
Loyola Marymount has competed in six events this season, including the Parker Cup (Mar. 6), Hurricane Invitational (Mar. 13), WCC Challenge (Mar. 20-21), Karen Hock-Hjelm Cup (Mar. 27), San Diego Crew Classic (Apr. 3-4), and dual meets against Sacramento State and UCSB (Apr. 17). The Lion varsity eight won the 2004 Women's Cal Cup earlier this season at the San Diego Crew Classic, defeating Miami, UCLA, Clemson, Navy, and Louisville in the Grand Final.

Last week, the LMU varsity eight split dual-meet contests, earning a victory against UCSB but dropping the race to Sacramento State. The Lions claim only one Miller Cup victory from 1979. UCLA defeated LMU earlier this season at the Karen Hock Hjelm-Cup.

San Diego State has competed four times this season, including the Parker Cup (Mar. 6), Long Beach Spring Invitational (Mar. 20), San Diego Crew Classic (Apr. 3-4), and the San Diego City Championships (Apr. 17). The Aztec varsity eight finished 17th out of 21 crews competing for the Women's Cal Cup at the San Diego Crew Classic. San Diego State has claimed two Miller Cup victories, in 1997 and 2002.

USD last competed at the San Diego City Championships (Apr. 17), defeating San Diego State and UC San Diego in the Varsity Eight event to claim the city title. At the San Diego Crew Classic, the Torero varsity eight finished 15th out of 21 crews for the Women's Cal Cup. USD holds only won Miller Cup victory from 2000. UCLA defeated USD earlier this season in Heat 3 of the Women's Cal Cup prelims.

UC Irvine competed at UCLA on Mar. 20 in the Bruins' home opener. The UCLA varsity eight defeated the Anteaters by 20-seconds. At the 2004 San Diego Crew Classic, the UC Irvine varsity eight did not qualify for a final race.

Orange Coast will only race a varsity four and novice eight boat in Saturday's regatta.

Last Week
Last week, UCLA competed at the Stanford Invitational (Apr. 17) in a dual meet against Oregon State. The Bruin varsity eight defeated the Beavers by 5-seconds, claiming their first Pac-10 victory of the season and their first ever as a scholarship sport. With the victory, the UCLA varsity eight improved their dual-meet record to 4-1 this season.

The Bruins dropped the Second Varsity Eight, Varsity Four and Novice Eight contests to the Beavers.

This Week
Miller Cup
Ballona Creek, Marina del Rey, Calif.
Saturday, April 24, 2004

Schedule of Events
10:00 a.m. - Varsity Four Heat 1
10:12 a.m. - Varsity Four Heat 2
10:24 a.m. - Novice Eight Heat 1
10:36 a.m. - Novice Eight Heat 2
10:48 a.m. - Second Varsity Eight Heat 1
11:00 a.m. - Second Varsity Eight Heat 2
11:12 a.m. - Varsity Eight Heat 1
11:24 a.m. - Varsity Eight Heat 2

11:48 a.m. - Varsity Four Petite Final
12:00p.m. - Varsity Four Grand Final
12:12 p.m. - Novice Eight Petite Final
12:24 p.m. - Novice Eight Grand Final
12:36 p.m. - Second Varsity Eight Petite Final
12:48 p.m. - Second Varsity Eight Grand Final
1:00 p.m. - Varsity Eight Petite Final
1:12 p.m. - Varsity Eight Grand Final

Directions to the UCLA Boathouse
UCLA Marina del Rey Aquatic Center
14001 Fiji Way
Marina del Rey, CA

From UCLA:

Take the 405 South (San Diego Freeway).
Take the 90 West (Marina del Rey Freeway).
Follow the 90 all the way to its end (which is a surface street).
Make a LEFT on 'Mindanao.'
Make a LEFT on 'Lincoln Blvd.'
Make a RIGHT on 'Fiji Way' (the Aquatic Center is located at the end of Fiji Way, behind the Villa Venetia Apartment Complex).

Free Parking at Dock 52 (15 minutes walk from the Aquatic Center). Parking also available at the Fisherman's Village (5 minutes walk from the Aquatic Center).

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network