Pac-10 Announces Women's Golf All-Conference Teams

April 22, 2004

Walnut Creek, Calif. - UCLA'S Charlotte Mayorkas has been named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year, while the Bruins' Hannah Jun is the Newcomer of the Year and UCLA head coach Carrie Forsyth has been named Coach of the Year, invoting by the Pac-10 women's golf coaches, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Stanford golfers Kim Kouwabunpat (Upland, CA), Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana (Long Beach, CA), and Lauren Todd (Phoenix, AZ) were honorable mention selection. Tangtiphaiboontana posted her second consecutive top 10 finish earlier this week at the Pac-10 Championships, finishing tied for seventh. Kouwabunpat tied for 28th while Todd tied for 39th.

Mayorkas, a junior from Chula Vista, Calif., led UCLA to the Pac-10 Championship in Saticoy Country Club, Somis, Calif. (Apr. 19-21). Mayorkas, the first medalist from UCLA in 13 years, shot a 2-over 218 to win her fifth career individual title and fourth in the last five events. Mayorkas d finished in the Top-10 in eight events on the season.

Jun, a freshman from San Diego Calif., finished second at the Pac-10 Championships, just two strokes behind teammate, Mayorkas. Jun finished in the Top-10 three times in 2004, and she saved her best for last, as her highest finish was second at the Pac-10 Championships.

Forsyth directed UCLA to its first Pac-10 Title since 1991. Under Forsyth's guidance, the Bruins entered the Pac-10 Championships as the No. 2 team in the nation, and had finished in the Top-10 in 10-of-11 events this season. In addition, under Forsyth, four UCLA golfers were ranked in the Top-50 in the Nation.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder