Pac-10 Women's Golf Honors Announced

April 22, 2004

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- UCLA'S Charlotte Mayorkas has been named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year, while the Bruins' Hannah Jun is the Newcomer of the Year and UCLA head coach Carrie Forsyth has been named Coach of the Year, in voting by the Pac-10 women's golf coaches, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Mayorkas, a junior from Chula Vista, Calif., led UCLA to the Pac-10 Championship in Saticoy Country Club, Somis, Calif. (Apr. 19-21). Mayorkas, the first medalist from UCLA in 13 years, shot a 2-over 218 to win her fifth career individual title and fourth in the last five events. Mayorkas d finished in the Top-10 in eight events on the season.

Jun, a freshman from San Diego Calif., finished second at the Pac-10 Championships, just two strokes behind teammate, Mayorkas. Jun finished in the Top-10 three times in 2004, and she saved her best for last, as her highest finish was second at the Pac-10 Championships.

Forsyth directed UCLA to its first Pac-10 Title since 1991. Under Forsyth's guidance, the Bruins entered the Pac-10 Championships as the No. 2 team in the nation, and had finished in the Top-10 in 10-of-11 events this season. In addition, under Forsyth, four UCLA golfers were ranked in the Top-50 in the Nation.


Name School Yr. HometownErica Blasberg Arizona So. Corona, Calif.Irene Cho USC So. La Habra, Calif.Sarah Huarte California Sr. Shingle Springs, Calif.Paige Mackenzie Washington Jr. Yakima, Wash.Charlotte Mayorkas UCLA Jr. Chula Vista, Calif.Kim Welch Washington State Jr. Sacramento, Calif.


Name School Yr. HometownVeronica Felibert USC Fr. Caracas, VenezuelaHannah Jun UCLA Fr. San Diego, Calif.Sung Ea Lee Washington So. Tacoma, Wash.Susie Mathews UCLA So. Adelaide, AustraliaKrystal Shearer UCLA Sr. Northridge, Calif.Sophia Sheridan California So. Guadalajara, Mexico

Honorable Mention: Sofie Anderson, So, CAL; Erin Andrews, So, ORE; Tanya Dergal, So, USC; Lani Elston, So, ARIZ; Cassandra Kirkland, So, ARIZ; Ana Kostina, So, WSU; Kim Kouwabunpat, Sr, STAN; ARIZ; Alissa Kuczka, So, ASU;Amber Prange, Fr, WASH; Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana, Fr, STAN; Tiffany Tavee, Fr, ASU; Lauren Todd, Fr, STAN; Gina Umeck, Sr, UCLA;

PAC-10 GOLFER OF THE YEAR: Charlotte Mayorkas, UCLA


PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Carrie Forsyth, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder