Husky Spring Football Awards Announced

April 23, 2004

Seattle - The Washington football team will play its annual Spring Football Game Saturday at 12:30 at Husky Stadium. The game is free to the public and is part of Washington's Spring Fling. Parking is free on campus starting at noon. Due to a number of injuries on the UW offensive line, this year's game will be a controlled scrimmage. The Husky coaching staff has developed a scoring system that will allow the offensive players to compete against the defensive unit during the game. KJR AM-950 will broadcast the game starting at noon.

Spring Game Scoring
Under the scoring system, the offensive can accumulate points by touchdown (six), field goal (three), extra points (one/two) and for each first down (one). The defense will receive points for each fumble recovery or interception (four), three-and-out (three), a three-and-out when the offense enters the red zone (four) and for each time it stops an offensive series by other means (one). All drives will begin at the 30-yard line. The scrimmage will include some special teams that will not count in the scoring totals.

Spring Awards
The Washington football staff announced today the team's Most Improved Awards for spring football. The recognition is presented to one player at each position. This year's winners were:

Most Improved Offensive Lineman/Tight End: Ryan Brooks, senior, offensive tackleMost Improved Running Back: James Sims, junior, fullbackMost Improved Wide Receiver: Charles Smith, redshirt freshman, wide receiverMost Improved Quarterback: Carl Bonnell, redshirt freshman, quarterbackMost Improved Defensive Lineman: Casey Tyler, redshirt freshman, defensive tackleMost Improved Linebacker: Evan Benjamin, junior, outside linebackerMost Improved Safety: C.J. Wallace, sophomore, strong safetyMost Improved Cornerback: Sam Cunningham, senior, cornerback

Captains for the 2004 season will be announced during Saturday's spring game.

Missing in Action
Several Husky players will miss Saturday's Spring Game due to injury. That group includes:

TE   Joe Toledo       Sore backDT   Andy Heater      Right knee (MCL)C    Juan Garcia      Broken left legC    Brad Vanneman    Sprained left ankleDT   Manase Hopoi     Sprained left kneeTE   Ben Bandel       Sore left kneeOG   Tusi Sa'au       Sore backFS   Dashon Goldson   Left shoulder surgeryTE   Jason Benn       Right shoulder surgeryILB  Joe Lobendahn    Right knee surgeryOG   Rob Meadow       Right knee surgeryILB  Ben Warren       Sprained left kneeNT   Dan Milsten      Sprained right ankle
Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network