Cardinal Advance To Singles And Doubles Finals At Pac-10 Tournament

April 24, 2004

OJAI, Calif. - Several Stanford men's tennis players took the court on the third day of action at the Pac-10 Individual Tournament on Saturday at Libbey Park in Ojai, CA. Junior Sam Warburg advanced to the finals of the singles main draw, while the sophomore tandem of KC Corkery and James Pade played their way into the finals of the doubles main draw finals.

Warburg advanced to the finals thanks to a 6-4, 6-4 straight sets victory over UCLA's Chris Lam in the first semifinal of the day. The Sacramento, CA native will face USC's Adriano Biaselia in the final on Sunday.

The Cardinal has notched eight Pac-10 men's singles champions since the tournament began in 1987, the last being Geoff Abrams in 2000

Corkery and Pade defeated Arizona State's Jonathan Kinsella and Chris Stewart, 8-5, in the semifinals to advance to the finals. The duo will face UCLA's Philipp Gruendler and Luben Pampoulov in the finals for the Pac-10 doubles title.

In singles invitational action, senior captain Carter Morris advanced to the finals with a 7-6, 6-7 (4), 6-0 win over Gruendler in the semifinals. Morris will take on Chris Surapol of UCLA in the singles invitational draw finals on Sunday.

It will be an all Stanford final in the doubles invitational draw as the team of junior Phil Sheng and freshman James Wan will face fellow Cardinal, freshmen Eric McKean and Chris Rasmussen. Sheng and Wan cruised past Oregon's Thomas Bieri and Chris King, 8-4, while McKean and Rasmussen downed Washington's Chris Floyd and Michael Ricks, 8-5.


Semifinals -- Sat., April 24
Sam Warburg (Stan) d. Chris Lam (UCLA), 6-4, 6-4


Semifinals -- Sat., April 24
Carter Morris (Stan) d. Philipp Gruendler (UCLA), 7-6, 7-6(4), 6-0


Semifinals, Sat., April 24
Corkery/Pade (Stan) d. Kinsella/Stewart (ASU), 8-5


Semifinals, Sat., April 24
McKean/Rasmussen (Stan) d. Floyd/Ricks (Wash), 8-5
Sheng/Wan (Stan) d. Bieri/King (Ore), 8-4

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network