Golf Team Seeded No. 6 at NCAA West Regional

April 26, 2004

Seattle - The 12th-ranked Washington women's golf team will be the No. 6 seed at the NCAA West Regional Championship to be held at the Stanford Golf Course May 6-8. The Huskies hope to advance to the NCAA Championships at Auburn May 18-21. The selection marks the 12th time the Huskies have received a bid to a NCAA regional championship. Washington has advanced to the NCAA Championships seven times since 1977.

A total of eight teams and two individuals will advance from each of the three regionals to Auburn for the national finals. Last season the Huskies finished a disappointing 13th. Current senior Lindsay Morgan, who was fourth at the 2003 regional, was on the only member of the UW squad to be selected for the NCAA Championships.

'We're excited to be placed in the West Regional,' said Husky coach Mary Lou Mulflur. 'The seeding is about what I expected. We know the Stanford Golf Course very well and that should be an advantage. Even our freshmen have already played seven rounds there.'

Washington's lineup for the regional will include Morgan, Paige Mackenzie, Sung Ea Lee, Amber Prange and Ashley Bickerton.

The regional sites and the selected teams and individuals are listed below.

West RegionalThe West regional will be played May 6-8 at Stanford Golf Course, Stanford, California, hosted by Stanford University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams: 1. UCLA (Pacific-10 Conference)2. Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)3. California4. Georgia5. Texas (Big 12 Conference)6. Washington7. Stanford8. Pepperdine9. Arizona State10. Oregon11. San Francisco12. New Mexico State13. San Diego State14. San Jose State15. Brigham Young16. Texas Tech17. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)18. Washington State19. Portland State (Big Sky Conference)20. Cal State Northridge (Big West Conference)21. Oral Roberts (Mid-Continent Conference)

Individuals: 1. Angela Won, UC Irvine2. Sara Odelius, Hawaii3. Lauren Gray, Northern Arizona

East RegionalThe East regional will be played May 6-8 at Mission Inn Golf and Tennis Resort, Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida, co-hosted by the Central Florida Sports Commission and Stetson University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams: 1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)2. Auburn3. Oklahoma State4. Wake Forest5. UNLV (Mountain West Conference)6. Florida7. North Carolina8. Tulane (Conference USA)9. LSU10. Tennessee11. Furman (Southern Conference)12. South Carolina13. Florida State14. Mississippi15. North Carolina-Wilmington (Big South Conference)16. Alabama17. Miami (Florida)18. North Carolina State19. Campbell (Atlantic Sun Conference)20. St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast Conference)21. Southern University (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

Individuals: 1. Adriene Millican, East Carolina2. Carol Green, James Madison3. Natalia Novorro, Florida Atlantic

Central RegionalThe Central regional will be played May 6-8 at University Golf Course, Normal, Illinois, hosted by Illinois State University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams: 1. Vanderbilt (Southeastern Conference)2. New Mexico3. Arizona4. Southern California5. Oklahoma6. Michigan State7. Tulsa (Western Athletic Conference)8. Missouri9. TCU10. Arkansas11. Texas A&M12. Kansas State13. Indiana14. Southern Methodist15. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)16. Purdue17. Northwestern18. Baylor19. Notre Dame20. Princeton (Ivy Group)21. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)

Individuals: 1. Malinda Johnson, Wisconsin2. Linda Svensson, Arkansas-Little Rock3. Laura Olin, Michigan

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder