NCAA Set Field For Women's Golf Championships Regionals

April 26, 2004

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Women's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2004 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championships Regionals.

Three regional tournaments will be conducted May 6-8 to determine the championships field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition, and all national championships policies will apply.

A total of 324 participants have been selected for the regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals May 18-21. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each region.

The championships finals will be held at Grand National Lake Course, Opelika, Alabama, hosted by Auburn University.

The regional sites and the selected teams and individuals are listed below.

West Regional

The West regional will be played May 6-8 at Stanford Golf Course, Stanford, California, hosted by Stanford University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.


1. UCLA (Pacific-10 Conference)2. Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)3. California4. Georgia5. Texas (Big 12 Conference)6. Washington7. Stanford8. Pepperdine9. Arizona State10. Oregon11. San Francisco12. New Mexico State13. San Diego State14. San Jose State15. Brigham Young16. Texas Tech17. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)18. Washington State19. Portland State (Big Sky Conference)20. Cal State Northridge (Big West Conference)21. Oral Roberts (Mid-Continent Conference)


1. Angela Won, UC Irvine2. Sara Odelius, Hawaii3. Lauren Gray, Northern Arizona

East Regional

The East regional will be played May 6-8 at Mission Inn Golf and Tennis Resort, Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida, co-hosted by the Central Florida Sports Commission and Stetson University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.


1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)2. Auburn3. Oklahoma State4. Wake Forest5. UNLV (Mountain West Conference)6. Florida7. North Carolina8. Tulane (Conference USA)9. LSU10. Tennessee11. Furman (Southern Conference)12. South Carolina13. Florida State14. Mississippi15. North Carolina-Wilmington (Big South Conference)16. Alabama17. Miami (Florida)18. North Carolina State19. Campbell (Atlantic Sun Conference)20. St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast Conference)21. Southern University (Southwestern Athletic Conference)


1. Adriene Millican, East Carolina2. Carol Green, James Madison3. Natalia Novorro, Florida Atlantic

Central Regional

The Central regional will be played May 6-8 at University Golf Course, Normal, Illinois, hosted by Illinois State University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.


1. Vanderbilt (Southeastern Conference)2. New Mexico3. Arizona4. Southern California5. Oklahoma6. Michigan State7. Tulsa (Western Athletic Conference)8. Missouri9. TCU10. Arkansas11. Texas A&M12. Kansas State13. Indiana14. Southern Methodist15. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)16. Purdue17. Northwestern18. Baylor19. Notre Dame20. Princeton (Ivy Group)21. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)


1. Malinda Johnson, Wisconsin2. Linda Svensson, Arkansas-Little Rock3. Laura Olin, Michigan

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder