All-American Kristen Lewis Receives NCAA Post-Grad Scholarship

April 29, 2004

INDIANAPOLIS--- Bruin senior Kristen Lewis, a two-time All-American at this year's NCAA Championships, was one of the 29 women's winter sports participants who received a NCAA postgraduate scholarship.

As announced on Tuesday, April 27, the NCAA has awarded 58 postgraduate scholarships of $7,500 each to 29 men and 29 women who participated in winter sports, which included women's archery, men's and women's basketball, women's bowling, men's and women's fencing, men's and women's gymnastics, men's and women's ice hockey, men's and women's rifle, men's and women's skiing, women's squash, men's and women's swimming and diving, women's synchronized swimming, women's team handball, men's and women's indoor track and field, and wrestling.

In addition to the winter sport honorees, the NCAA also awards 116 postgraduate scholarships to student-athletes participating in fall and spring sports in which the NCAA conducts championships or designates as an emerging sport, for a total of 174 postgraduate scholarships annually.

To qualify for a NCAA postgraduate scholarship, a student-athlete must have an overall grade-point average of 3.200 (on a 4.000 scale) or its equivalent and must have performed with distinction as a member of the varsity team in the sport in which the student-athlete was nominated. The student-athlete must have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics. The student-athlete also must intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time or part-time graduate student.

Nomination forms are sent to faculty athletics representatives in the fall. The forms are also available online and may be completed online. Selections are made three times each academic year. The application must be submitted during the appropriate seasonal category for the sport. Candidates are screened by seven regional selection committees, and the winners are selected by the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder