Arizona Sweeps 2004 Pac-10 Men's Golf Honors

April 30, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Chris Nallen of Arizona has been named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year, Henry Liaw of Arizona has been named Freshman of the Year, and Wildcat coach Rick LaRose has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year in voting by the Pac-10 men's golf coaches. In addition, the 2004 All-Pac-10 Men's Golf Team selected by the coaches was announced.

Nallen, a senior from Hackettstown, N.J., is a three-time first-team All-Pac-10 selection and a semifinalist for the 2004 Ben Hogan Award, presented annually to the nation's top collegiate golfer. He has won three tournaments this year and has posted four other top five finishes. His victories came in the PING-Arizona Intercollegiate, the Hall of Fame Invitational and the Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic. Nallen has a stroke average of 69.92 this season, on pace for a school record with the possibility of becoming the first Wildcat to average less than 70 strokes per round for a season. At one point, he had a string of eight consecutive competitive rounds in the 60s. Included was a 62 in the Jerry Pate National Intercollegiate, which tied the Arizona record and tied for the fifth-lowest round in Pac-10 history. It marks the second straight year an Arizona golfer has been named Pac-10 Player of the Year as Nallen follows former teammate Ricky Barnes.

Liaw, from Rowland Heights, Calif., capped a sensationsl freshman season by winning the Pac-10 Championship by four strokes. That added to a season that saw him garner four top 10 finishes and seven finishes in the top 20. After a slow start in the fall, Liaw came on in the spring season with seven consecutive tournaments under par, scoring 19 of 22 rounds at par or better, including eight rounds in the 60s. For the year, Liaw had a 71.67 stroke average.

LaRose directed Arizona to a spectacular season, topped by a final-round come-from-behind victory in the Pac-10 Championships. After a slow start in the fall season, LaRose's Wildcats turned it around in the spring with four victories and two second-place finishes in seven tournaments. In addition to the Pac-10 Championships, Arizona was the winner of the PING-Arizona Intercollegiate, the John Burns Intercollegiate and the Hall of Fame Invitational. LaRose, in his 26th year at the Arizona helm, has directed the Wildcats to the NCAA Championships for 17 consecutive seasons. He is the only coach in history to win both a men's and women's NCAA golf title and last year was inducted into the Golf Coaches of America Hall of Fame. It marks the third time LaRose has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, having previously been honored in 1987 and 1991.

The Pac-10 golf awards and the All-Pac-10 Team are voted on by the Conference head golf coaches. Following is the complete list of honors:


Name School Yr. HometownAlejandro Canizares Arizona State So. Manilva, SpainTravis Johnson UCLA Sr. Bellflower, CAHenry Liaw Arizona Fr. Rowland Heights, CABrock Mackenzie Washington Sr. Yakima, WAChris Nallen Arizona Sr. Hackettstown, NJChez Reavie Arizona State Sr. Mesa, AZPeter Tomasulo California Sr. Long Beach, CA


Name School Yr. HometownNico Bollini USC Jr. Yorba Linda, CASteve Conway UCLA Sr. Newport Beach, CAJeff Hood California Jr. Atascadero, CAJohn Merrick UCLA Sr. Long Beach, CAZack Miller Stanford Fr. San Rafael, CA

Honorable Mention: Scott Carlyle, Sr., CAL; Josh Esler, Fr., ARIZ; Ben Hayes, Jr., USC; Jesse Mueller, Jr., ASU; Dan Potter, Sr., WASH; John Poucher, Jr., UCLA; Jesse Ruda, Sr., CAL; Joshua Wooding, Fr., USC

PAC-10 GOLFER OF THE YEAR: Chris Nallen, Sr., Arizona

PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Henry Liaw, Arizona

PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Rick LaRose, Arizona

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder