Kristen Rivera Named Top 10 Finalist For Collegiate Player Of The Year

May 1, 2004

SEATTLE- Washington junior Kristen Rivera is a top 10 finalist for the third annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award, it was announced today by the Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States. The initial list of 25 finalists was announced on April 7. This award is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

Also listed among the top 10 are Monica Abbott (Tennessee), Autumn Champion (University of Arizona), Christina Clark (Fresno State), Alicia Hollowell (Arizona), Caitlin Lowe (Arizona), Iyhia McMichael (Mississippi State), Brooke Mitchell (Louisiana Lafayette), Kristen Rivera (Washington),Jamie Southern (Fresno State), Jessica van der Linden (Florida State).

Rivera leads the country in slugging percentage (.973) and her 17 home runs rank second. She boasts a team-high .445 batting average, which ranks 13th in the country, and Rivera's 46 runs batted in rank seventh.

Rivera was a top 10 finalist for the award last season after leading the country with 25 home runs.

The list of finalists will narrow to three on May 11th, with the winner of the 2004 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award being announced May 26 at the opening ceremonies of the NCAA College World Series in Oklahoma City.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network