Washington Swimming Announces Team Awards

May 3, 2004

SEATTLE-Nineteen Washington swimmers took home team awards at the annual swimming banquet. Justin Adrian, Phil Davis, Sharon Olson and Desiree Johnson shared the men's and women's top awards for Most Valuable Veterans, while the Most Valuable Rookie awards went to transfer students Lorant Divald and Nicole Bernard.

Adrian and Davis anchored a men's team that posted its highest NCAA finish in over a quarter-century as each earned All-America honors at the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. Adrian picked up All-America honors with a 16th place finish in the 100 butterfly, and finished his career with four individual school records and four relay records.

Davis earned All-America honors with a sixth place finish in the 200 breaststroke at the NCAA Championships and holds the school records for the 100 and 200-yard breaststroke. Davis also swam legs in three school-record-breaking relays. Davis and Adrian also earned All-America honors in the 400 medley relay along with Derek Rose and Luke Ekhoff.

'I am very proud of our award winners this season, especially our Most Valuable Veterans' said head coach Mickey Wender. 'Phil Davis, the 'Big Dawg', is the first Pac-10 Champion I've coached in my tenure at Washington and he had just a phenomenal senior season. Justin Adrian, who has been our anchor man on our relays for the last three years, has perhaps made his biggest contributions to Husky swimming outside of the pool with his leadership abilities. To have these guys cap of their careers with All-America awards was great.'

Johnson and Olson were named Most Valuable Veterans after qualifying to compete at the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. Johnson, a junior, holds the school record in the 100 butterfly and 100 backstroke and swam on three record-setting relays. Olson, a sophomore, holds six individual school records and all five relay records.

'Desiree Johnson had a tremendous year and is the first person to break one of Kim Harada's records,' said Wender. 'She was focused, determined, a great leader in and out of the pool, and we are so lucky to have her as a team captain. Sharon Olson is one of the most versatile and talented athletes to ever wear a Washington cap and her potential over the next two seasons is limitless.'

Divald, a transfer from Toledo, had a strong first season with the Huskies. Divald broke into two UW top 10 lists, including fourth-fastest all-time in the 200 freestyle and seventh-fastest all-time in the 500 freestyle. He also was a member of two record-setting relays.

Bernard, a transfer from Northwestern, also made her mark on the Washington record books. In just her first season in a Husky cap, Bernard swam the school's second-fastest time ever in the 200 backstroke. She also ranks sixth all-time in the 100 backstroke.

Listed below are all Washington award winners:

Women's Award Winners:
Most Valuable Veteran - Sharon Olson & Desiree Johnson
Most Valuable Rookie - Nicole Bernard
Most Improved Veteran - Lisa Fanning
Most Improved Rookie - Blythe Murray
Most Inspirational - Lisa Fanning & Crystal Rawlings
Tyee Club Community Service Award - Rachel Owen
Coaches' Award - Erin Kloos & Anissa Hilyard
101 Club Veteran Scholar Athlete - Anissa Hilyard
Rookie Scholar Athlete - Crystal Rawlings
2004-2005 Captains - Desiree Johnson & Erin Kloos

Men's Award Winners
Most Valuable Veteran - Justin Adrian & Phil Davis
Most Valuable Rookie - Lorant Divald
Most Improved Veteran - Phil Davis
Most Improved Rookie - Jared Osborne
Most Inspirational - Brendon Bray
Tyee Club Community Service Award - Chris Toomey
Coaches' Award - Luke Ekhoff & Diogo Bezerra
101 Club Veteran Scholar Athlete - John Lyssand
Rookie Scholar Athlete - Chris Toomey
2004-2005 Captains - Jim Wolfe & Diogo Bezerra

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder