2004 Tennis Awards

May 5, 2004

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- In a vote by the Conference coaches, STANFORD's Sam Warburg has been named the Pacific-10 Conference Men's Tennis Player of the Year, while CALIFORNIA's Raquel Kops-Jones was named Pac-10 Women's Tennis Player of the Year.

The Men's Tennis Co-Doubles Teams of the Year were split between California's Balazs Veress and Patrick Briaud and UCLA's Alberto Francis and Kris Kwinta, with Stanford's Erin Burdette and Lauren Barnikow named Women's Doubles Team of the Year.

The Cardinal's James Wan and WASHINGTON's Alex Slovic earned the Men's Co-Freshman of the Year honors, while the Bruin's Daniela Bercek was named Women's Freshman of the Year.

For the coaches awards, USC's Peter Smith was named Men's Coach of the Year, while Stanford's Lele Forood was selected as Women's Coach of the Year.

Warburg, a junior from Sacramento, Calif., is currently ranked No. 8 by the ITA and finished the season with a 19-3 dual meet record on his way to winning his first Pac-10 Title. Kops-Jones, a senior from Fresno, Calif., is currently ranked No. 1 in the nation. She recently won the singles title at the Pac-10 Championships, beating Stanford's Alice Barnes. During the regular season she posted a 22-6 record.

California's tandem of Veress and Briaud are currently ranked No. 6 in the nation after compiling a 20-11 overall record. Veress, a senior from Budapest, Hungary, and Briaud, a junior from College Station, Texas, advanced to the semifinals at the Pac-10 Championships. UCLA's doubles pairing of Francis and Kwinta were eliminated in the first round of the Conference tournament, but compiled a 30-10 overall record during the season. Francis is a junior from McAllen, Texas, and Kwinta is a junior from Poznan, Poland. Although not paired together at the Pac-10 Tourney, Stanford's Burdette and Barnikow compiled a 27-2 overall record during the season with Burdette part of the doubles pairing to win the Pac-10 Doubles Championship. Burdette is a junior from Jackson, Ga., and Barnikow is a senior hailing from Woodbridge, N.J.

Wan, from Woodbury, N.Y. finished the season with a 23-1 mark in dual match play and is 27-3 overall. Slovic, from Pancevo, Yugoslavia ended his season with a 25-5 overall record and is ranked No. 25 in the nation by the ITA. Bercek, from Novi Sad, Serbia and Montenegro, currently ranks No. 31 by the ITA. This season she advanced as far as the Pac-10 quarterfinals and compiled an overall record of 19-4, spliting time between the one and two position, for the Bruins.

In only his second year at USC, Smith guided the Trojans to a 6-1 Conference record (19-3 overall) and a share of the Pac-10 team title. What is more impressive, is that Smith turned his team from a 2-5 Conference team in 2003, to a Conference champ currently ranked No. 6 nationally, in only one year of work. It was USC's first Pac-10 team title since 1994. Forood led the Cardinal to a perfect 23-0 record, going 8-0 in Conference play to take sole possession of the Pac-10 title. This is Forood's fourth Pac-10 Championship and Stanford's 17th consecutive Conference crown in a row. Over her four year tenure, Farood has led Stanford to a 105-3 record and won two NCAA Championships. This is the first time Forood has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

Men's First Team
Adriano Biasella, USC
Tobias Clemens, UCLA
Alex Slovic, WASH
Sven Swinnen, ORE
Alex Vlaski, WASH
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Second Team
KC Corkery, STAN
Manuel Kost, ORE
Chris Lam, UCLA
Roger Matalonga, ARIZ
Balazs Veress, CAL
Wayne Wong, CAL

Honorable Mention
Jamil Al-Agba, USC
Johan Berg, USC
Luben Pampoulov, UCLA
Chris Stewart, ASU
James Wan, STAN

Men's Player of the Year
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Co-Doubles Team of the Year
Balazs Veress/Patrick Briaud, CAL
Alberto Francis/Kris Kwinta, UCLA

Men's Co-Freshman of the Year
Alex Slovic, WASH
James Wan, STAN

Men's Coach of the Year
Peter Smith, USC

Women's First Team
Alice Barnes, STAN
Dianne Hollands, ARIZ
Raquel Kops-Jones, CAL
Amber Liu, STAN
Daria Panova, ORE
Dea Sumantri, WASH

Women's Second Team
Anca Anastasiu, USC
Daniela Bercek, UCLA
Erin Burdette, STAN
Jackie Carleton, UCLA
Claire Carter, WASH
Luana Magnani, USC

Honorable Mention
Lauren Barnikow, STAN
Erin Hoe, WASH
Jieun Jacobs, CAL
Theresa Logar, STAN
Sasha Podkolzina, CAL
Carine Vermeulen, USC

Women's Player of the Year
Raquel Kops-Jones, CAL

Women's Doubles Team of the Year
Erin Burdette/Lauren Barnikow, STAN

Women's Freshman of the Year
Daniela Bercek, UCLA

Women's Coach of the Year
Lele Forood, STAN

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network