Kops-Jones Named Pac-10 Player of the Year

May 5, 2004

BERKELEY - California senior Raquel Kops-Jones, the No. 1-ranked singles player in the country, has been voted the Pac-10 Player of the Year.

Kops-Jones - the first Golden Bear woman ever to receive the honor - also became the first female in school history to win the Pac-10 singles championship when she posted a 6-3, 6-4 over Stanford's Alice Barnes April 25.

Kops-Jones, who has been ranked among the top five players in the nation since ending last season at No. 5, climbed to No. 1 in the rankings for the first time March 9 and remained there for nearly a month before falling to No. 4. But in the latest rankings released April 28, she returned to the top slot. Her overall singles record this season now stands at an impressive 27-6.

In addition to Kops-Jones, senior Jieun Jacobs and freshman Sasha Podkolzina were selected honorable mention All-Pac-10.

Cal (16-8) opens play in the NCAA Tournament at home next weekend. The 11th-seeded Bears host Illinois State (18-3) in the opening round and, if they prevail, will face the winner of Fresno State and Sacramento State.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network