Sumantri, Carter and Hoe All Named to Pac-10 All-Conference Team

May 5, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Junior Dea Sumantri, senior Claire Carter and senior Erin Hoe were all named as members of the 2004 Pac-10 Women's Tennis All-Conference Team, the Pac-10 announced today. Sumantri was named as one of the six-member first team, Carter earned second-team honors, and Hoe received Honorable Mention accolades.

Sumantri, a junior from Jakarta, Indonesia, is Washington's first First-Team representative since Kristina Kaszewski earned the honor three consecutive years from 1999-2001. Sumantri was a second-team honoree in 2003. She has compiled a 24-9 record, 18-4 in dual play, splitting time at No. 1 and 2 singles with Carter. She is currently ranked 17th in the nation, and also ranks 10th in doubles with Carter. The pair has posted at 22-12 doubles mark this year after earning All-American honors last season.

Carter, a senior from Nottingham, England, becomes the second Husky to make the Pac-10 team all four years of her career. Carter was a second team member her freshman season, then earned honorable mentions her sophomore and junior years. Kraszewski was the only other Husky to make the team all four years. Carter is seeking to become Washington's first four-time All-American. She earned All-American honors in singles her freshman year and in doubles in 2002 and 2003. Carter is 22-9 on the year with a 17-5 dual record. Her 89 career singles wins rank second on Washington's all-time wins list.

Senior Erin Hoe from Mililani, Hawaii, enjoyed a breakout senior season to make the Pac-10 team for the first time. Hoe leads the Huskies with 27 singles wins to only eight defeats, and a 20-3 dual record, all at No. 3 singles. Hoe moved into third place on UW's all-time singles wins list this season behind Carter and Kraszewski. She dominated dual play, winning 16 of her final 17 dual matches.

California's Raquel Kops-Jones took home the Player of the Year Award. Stanford's Erin Burdette and Lauren Barnikow were named the conference's top doubles team for the second year in a row. Daniela Bercek of UCLA earned Freshman of the Year honors and the Coach of the Year award went to Stanford's lele Forood.

The 10th-ranked Husky women (18-5) will host first and second round NCAA Tournament play May 15-16 at Bill Quillian Stadium on the UW Campus. The Huskies face Fairfield in the first round.

2004 Pac-10 Women's Tennis All-Conference Team
First Team

Alice Barnes (Stanford), Dianne Hollands (Arizona), Raquel Kops-Jones (Cal), Amber Liu (Stanford), Daria Panova (Oregon), Dea Sumantri (Washington)

Second Team
Anca Anastasiu (USC), Daniela Bercek (UCLA), Erin Burdette (Stanford), Jackie Carleton (UCLA), Claire Carter (Washington), Luana Magnani (USC)

Honorable Mention
Lauren Barnikow (Stanford), Erin Hoe (Washington), Jieun Jacobs (Cal), Theresa Logar (Stanford), Sasha Podkolzina (Cal), Carine Vermeulen (USC)

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network