Three Bruins Named to All-Pac-10 Teams

May 5, 2004

LOS ANGELES - For the third year in a row, UCLA men's tennis player Tobias Clemens was named a first-team All-Pac-10 selection, leading a list of three Bruins named to All-Pac-10 teams Wednesday. UCLA's Alberto Francis and Kris Kwinta were named Pac-10 Co-Doubles Team of the Year.

Clemens, a senior from Bonn, Germany, is currently ranked No. 7 in the nation with a 32-8 overall singles record. He has posted a 15-7 mark at the No. 1 singles position, playing in the top spot in every dual match this season. His 118 career singles victories rank No. 1 all-time at UCLA.

In addition to Clemens, UCLA's Chris Lam (2nd Team) and Luben Pampoulov earned All-Pac-10 honors Wednesday. It is the second such honor for Lam, a junior from Honololu, after being named an All-Pac-10 Honorable Mention selection a year ago. He is currently ranked No. 60 in the nation with a 31-14 overall record, reaching the main draw semifinals at the Pac-10 Championships two weeks ago. Pampoulov, a newcomer from Dornbirn, Austria, earned honorable mention honors despite playing in just six dual matches. He is ranked No. 67 nationally, anchoring the Bruins' No. 2 singles position. Pampoulov and teammate Philipp Gruendler captured the Pac-10 doubles title back on April 25.

Although Francis (McAllen, TX) and Kwinta (Poznan, Poland) didn't capture this year's Pac-10 title, they have been the most consistent team in the Pac-10 all season. The duo owns a 30-10 overall record, including a 16-7 mark in dual-match play. They are currently ranked No. 7 in the nation. Cal's Patrick Briaud and Balazs Veress were also named Co-Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year.

Men's First TeamAdriano Biasella, USCTobias Clemens, UCLAAlex Slovic, WASHSven Swinnen, OREAlex Vlaski, WASHSam Warburg, STAN

Men's Second TeamKC Corkery, STANManuel Kost, OREChris Lam, UCLARoger Matalonga, ARIZBalazs Veress, CALWayne Wong, CAL

Honorable MentionJamil Al-Agba, USCJohan Berg, USCLuben Pampoulov, UCLAChris Stewart, ASUJames Wan, STAN

Men's Player of the YearSam Warburg, STAN

Men's Co-Doubles Team of the YearBalazs Veress/Patrick Briaud, CALAlberto Francis/Kris Kwinta, UCLA

Men's Co-Freshman of the YearAlex Slovic, WASHJames Wan, STAN

Men's Coach of the YearPeter Smith, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network