Vlaski and Slovic Earn Pac-10 First Team Honors

May 5, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Washington's Alex Vlaski and Alex Slovic were both named to the Pac-10 Men's Tennis All-Conference First Team when the conference awards were announced today. Slovic was named the Co-Freshman of the year as well, sharing the award with Stanford's James Wan. The Huskies were the only member to place two individuals on the first team.

Vlaski, a junior from Belgrade, Yugoslavia, was named to the first team for the second-straight year. He was selected to the second team as a freshman and named the Freshman of the Year in 2002. Vlaski is currently the nation's 10th-ranked player and leads UW with a 27-6 singles record, 18-3 in dual play. He reached the semifinals of the recent Pac-10 Championships before falling to Adriano Biasella in a third-set tiebreak. In the fall, Vlaski became the first Husky since 1924 to win a national title when he won the 2003 ITA All-American Singles Championship. He earned All-American honors last year by reaching the semifinals of the NCAA Championships.

Slovic, a freshman from Pancevo, Yugoslavia, is the only freshman on this year's first team. He brings the Freshman of the Year award back to Washington which Vlaski earned in 2002. Slovic is currently ranked 25th, which makes him the second-highest ranked freshman in the country. He has amassed a 25-6 record in his rookie campaign, with an 18-3 dual match record. 24 of his 25 wins have come in straight sets. He also leads the Huskies with 21 doubles wins against only 8 defeats.

This marks the second consecutive year that Washington placed two members on the Pac-10 First Team. 2003 featured Vlaski and Matt Hanlin on the first team. Slovic becomes the fifth Husky overall to earn first-team honors. Eric Drew and Robert Kendrick both earned first-team spots in 1999.

The Pac-10 awards are selected by a vote of the conference coaches. Stanford's Sam Warburg garnered the Pac-10 Player of the Year award. Two doubles teams split the Doubles Team of the Year title. Balazs Veress and Patrick Briaud of Cal, and Alberto Francis and Kris Kwinta from UCLA shared the award. Coach of the year was awarded to USC's Peter Smith.

The NCAA Championship field was announced today, with the 24th-ranked Huskies (14-8) slated to travel to the four-team regional hosted by Stanford where they will take on New Mexico in first round action on May 15.

2004 Pac-10 Men's Tennis All-Conference Team
First Team

Adriano Biasella (USC), Tobias Clemens (UCLA), Alex Slovic (Washington), Sven Swinnen (Oregon), Alex Vlaski (Washington), Sam Warburg (Stanford)

Second Team
KC Corkery (Stanford), Manuel Kost (Oregon), Chris Lam (UCLA), Roger Matalonga (Arizona), Balazs Veress (Cal), Wayne Wong (Cal)

Honorable Mention
Jamil Al-Agba (USC), Johan Berg (USC), Luben Pampoulov (UCLA), Chris Stewart (Arizona State), James Wan (Stanford)

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network