Women's Golf Competes At NCAA Central Regional Championships

May 5, 2004

Los Angeles - The No. 10 USC women's golf team--the defending NCAA champion--travels to Normal, Ill., this week to compete in the 2004 NCAA Central Regional Championships held on the Illinois State Golf Course on May 6-8 (Thursday-Saturday).

The top eight teams plus the top two individuals from non-qualifying teams will advance to the NCAA Finals at Auburn on May 20-22.

Competition begins each day at 8 a.m. A total of 54 holes (18 per day) will be played.

Results will be posted on Golfstat's live scoring page and continue throughout the event. Visit www.golfstat.com for live scoring updates. A link will also be provided at usctrojans.com.


Three Women of Troy golfers finished in the top eight on as the USC women's golf team captured the team title by 10 strokes at the 2003 NCAA West Regional Championships held at Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Ariz. It was the second West Regional title in five years for USC, which went on to win the NCAA Championship.


USC has eight top-10 finishes so far this season (including five top five showings) and is just coming off a tie for fourth at the Pac-10 Championships.


Sophomore Irene Cho leads the Women of Troy this season with a stroke average of 74.70 and five top-20 finishes, including the individual title at the Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational. She is ranked 13th overall. She is joined by fellow sophomore Tanya Dergal, who is second on the team with a stroke average of 75.40. Dergal recently finished tied for 19th at the Pac-10 Championships. In the third spot with a stroke average of 75.67 is freshman Veronica Felibert, who won the individual title at the Lady Puerto Rico Classic. Rounding out the top six are senior Rachel Bell (76.62), freshman Catalina Marin (77.71) and senior Anna Rawson (78.40).

2004 NCAA Central Regional Participants at ISU Golf Course, Normal, Ill.TeamsVanderbilt (#3)New Mexico (#4)Arizona (#9)USC (#10)Oklahoma (#15)Michigan StateTulsaMissouriTexas ChristianArkansasTexas A&MKansas StateIndianaSMUKent StatePurdueNorthwesternBaylorNotre DamePrincetonIllinois State(teams' national rankings in parentheses)
Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network