Women's Tennis Earns NCAA Tournament Berth

May 5, 2004

TUCSON, Ariz. - The No. 41 Arizona women's tennis team was selected to participate in the 2004 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship. The Wildcats, 6-12 on the season, will head to Los Angeles, Calif., to take on the No. 21 Indiana Hoosiers. It was also announced today that junior Dianne Hollands earned 1st team Pac-10 honors in singles.

Arizona finished the regular season ranked No. 41, with one singles player in the top-20 and one doubles team in the top-5. Hollands has earned her highest ranking of her career in the latest polls at No. 11. Hollands also teams up with junior Maja Mlakar as the No. 5 ranked team in the nation.

Arizona finished the season with a record of 6-12, 2-6 in the Pac-10.

Indiana finished its season with a record of 17-7. Indiana's most impressive win of the season came on Feb. 22 against No. 17 ranked Kentucky. In the Hoosiers' final match of the season, they fell to No. 38 ranked University of Iowa, 4-3. Indiana has one singles player ranked, as well as one doubles team. No. 52 ranked Dora Vastag is Indiana's top threat in singles competition. In doubles play, Indiana boasts the No. 25 ranked team of Linda Tran and Sarah Batty.

Arizona and Indiana will face each other in the first round on May 14 at 9 a.m. at host University of Southern California, in the David X. Marks Tennis Stadium.

NCAA singles and doubles championship selections will be announced Thursday, May 6.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network