Bruins Compete At Oxy Invite, Modesto Relays

May 10, 2004

Over the weekend (May 8-9), UCLA sent several athletes to the Occidental Invitational and Modesto Relays.

At Oxy, sophomore Ashley Caldwell won the 1500m, in a personal-best and Regional Qualifying mark of 4:22.09. Sophomore Emily Haigh placed sixth (4:34.96).

The Bruins also had good marks in the 800m. Running personal-bests and Regional Qualifying marks were - senior Melissa McBain (2:07.50, eighth-best overall time) and sophomore Alejandra Barrientos (2:09.05, ninth-best overall mark). Also improving their times were sophomore Allison Hall (2:10.55, personal-best, 12th-best overall mark) and senior Jessica Marr (2:13.63, season-best, 19th-best overall time). In the 800m, Bruin alum Tiffany Burgess had the second- fastest overall time (2:03.05).

Other marks from Oxy included - in the 400m, senior Adia McKinnon was second in the 400m (54.96, season-opener) and freshman redshirt Jenna Timinsky was fourth (56.96); in the 5000m, sophomore Sarah West was third (personal-best 17:38.37) and junior Carmen Winant placed fifth (17:43.19) and in the high jump, junior Caroline Sommers placed second (equaling her personal-best of 5-8).

Bruin alumnus won both the long and triple jumps - Michelle Perry (long jump/19-2.75) and Deana Simmons (triple jump/43-1).

Three Bruin throwers competed at Modesto - in the shot put, junior Jessica Cosby placed fourth (53-5) and freshman Kamaiya Warren was sixth (50-6.75) and in the hammer throw, senior Cari Soong was second (198-8) and Cosby was third (196-3).

Bruin greats who competed included Amy Acuff in the high jump (2nd, 6-4.75), Tracy O'Hara in the pole vault (2nd, 14-7.25) and in the discus, Suzy Powell won the event (205-11) and Seilala Sua placed fifth (186-4).

Looking Ahead
UCLA this weekend (May 14-15) will compete at the 2004 Pac-10 Championships, hosted by the University of Arizona (Tucson). The Bruin women have won the conference title on 14 occasions (since 1987) and under Bruin head coach Jeanette Bolden, UCLA has captured the Pac-10 crown nine of the last 10 years (not winning in 1996/3rd), including the last seven years in row.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder