Men's Golf Selected To Compete At NCAA West Regional

May 10, 2004

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals that will participate in the 2004 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships.

The championships will be conducted June 1-4 at Cascades Golf Course, The Homestead in Hot Springs, Virginia. Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University is the host institution for this year's championships.

Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine regions, will be conducted May 20-22. A total of 27 teams and six individuals have been selected for each regional competition with 10 teams and two individuals advancing from each regional to the championships finals.

Stanford has been selected as the 16th seed in the West Regional, held at the Crosswater Club at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon and hosted by the University of Portland.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Crosswater Club at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon
Hosted by University of Portland

Teams (seeded in the following order):1.	UCLA2.	Arizona State3.	Arizona (Pac-10)4.	Southern California5.	Brigham Young6.	California7.	UNLV8.	Washington9.	New Mexico (Mountain West)10.	Pepperdine (West Coast)11.	Colorado State12.	Toledo (MAC)13.	UTEP14.	UCF (Atlantic Sun)15.	San Diego State16.	Stanford17.	North Carolina-Wilmington (Colonial)18.	Furman (Southern)19.	Denver20.	New Mexico State (Sun Belt)21.	UC Riverside22.	UC Irvine23.	Coastal Carolina (Big South)24.	Long Beach State (Big West)25.	Louisiana-Monroe (Southland)26.	Loyola (Maryland)  (Metro Atlantic)27.	Wright State (Horizon)

Individuals:1. Matt Kodama, Hawaii2. Travis Bertoni, Cal Poly3. Graham DeLaet, Boise State4. Chad Spencer, Fresno State5. Joe Lanza, St. Mary's (California)6. Garrett Clegg, Utah

Yale Golf Course in New Haven, Connecticut
Hosted by Yale University

Teams (seeded in the following order):1.	Florida2.	Clemson (Atlantic Coast)3.	Georgia (SEC)4.	Georgia Tech5.	South Carolina6.	Augusta State7.	Wake Forest8.	Duke9.	Tennessee10.	North Carolina11.	LSU12.	Georgia State13.	Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley)14.	North Carolina State15.	Alabama-Birmingham16.	Auburn17.	Vanderbilt18.	Georgia Southern19.	Penn State20.	Georgetown21.	Towson22.	Rhode Island (Atlantic 10)23.	Maryland24.	Binghamton25.	Yale26.	Army (Patriot)27.	Long Island (Northeast)

Individuals:1. Lars Brovold, Alabama2. Billy Hurley, Navy3. Gareth Maybin, South Alabama4. Ryan Stinnett, Virginia Tech5. Robert Dinwiddie, Tennessee State6. Matt Johnson, Winthrop

Birck Boilermaker Golf Course in West Lafayette, Indiana
Hosted by Purdue University

Teams (seeded in the following order):1.	Oklahoma State2.	Texas (Big 12)3.	TCU (C-USA)4.	Minnesota5.	Oklahoma6.	Kentucky7.	Arkansas8.	Kansas9.	Tulsa10.	Colorado11.	Southern Methodist (WAC)12.	Texas Tech13.	Kansas State14.	Baylor15.	Texas A&M16.	Xavier17.	Illinois18.	Ohio State (Big Ten)19.	Purdue20.	Kent State21.	Wichita State (Missouri Valley)22.	Indiana23.	Lamar24.	Notre Dame (Big East)25.	Princeton (Ivy)26.	Western Illinois (Mid-Continent)27.	Jackson State (SWAC)

Individuals:1. Mike Mezei, Texas-San Antonio2. Tom Johnson, Northwestern3. Jeremy Lyons, Iowa State4. Zach Mowbray, Houston5. Zach Atkinson, North Texas6. Brandon Brown, Eastern Kentucky

Conferences receiving automatic qualification into the 2004 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships are: Atlantic Coast Conference, Atlantic Sun Conference, Atlantic 10 Conference, Big East Conference, Big South Conference, Big Ten Conference, Big 12 Conference, Big West Conference, Colonial Athletic Association, Conference USA, Horizon League, Ivy Group, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Mid-American Conference, Mid-Continent Conference, Missouri Valley Conference, Mountain West Conference, Northeast Conference, Ohio Valley Conference, Pacific-10 Conference, Patriot League, Southeastern Conference, Southern Conference, Southland Conference, Southwestern Athletic Conference, Sun Belt Conference, West Coast Conference and Western Athletic Conference.

courtesy of the NCAA

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network