Pac-10's Next for Women's Rowing

May 10, 2004

Los Angeles - UCLA competes at the 18th Annual Pac-10 Women's Rowing Championships this Sunday, May 16, at Lake Natoma in Rancho Cordova, Calif. The Pacific Coast Rowing Championships will take place on Saturday, May 15.


Women's V8 Women's 2V8 Women's N8 Women's V4
1. California 1. California 1. Washington 1. Washington
2. Washington 2. Washington St. 2. California 2. Oregon St.
3. Washington St. 3. Washington 3. Oregon St. 3. California
4. USC 4. USC 4. Washington St. 4. Washington St.
5. Stanford 5. Oregon St. 5. UCLA 5. USC
6. UCLA 6. UCLA 6. USC 6. Stanford
7. Oregon St. 7. Stanford 7. San Diego St. 7. UCLA
8 Loyola Marymount 8. Sacramento St. 8. Sacramento St.
9. Sacramento St. 9. Loyola Marymount 9. Santa Clara
10. Gonzaga 10. San Diego St. 10. Sonoma St.
11. San Diego St. 11. UC Davis 11. Oregon
12. Santa Clara 12. UC Davis
13. UCSB
14. Southern Oregon
15. UC Davis

UCLA's Pac-10 Lineups
V8 -
Jessica Rogers (stroke), Liz Pallas-Jacobs, Jessica Fritz, Monica Grova, Dawn Regan, Lexi Harmon, Kristin Bixel, Irene Condella, Emina Ong (cox).

2V8 - Lauren Hamann (stroke), Lora Batina, Melanie Salter, Kelsey Hicks, Shannon Packer, Leah Wachtel, Kristina Tritsch, Elizabeth Felter, Kirsten Potenza (cox).

N8 - Erin Rice (stroke), Jessica Meredith, Elizabeth Lee, Kirsten Moore, Brittany Merchant, Jessica Holt, Christina Briggs, Jean Geddes, Megan McQuown (cox).

V4 - Anna Lindel (stroke), Hailey Hartong, Cassie Maino, Katie Larivey, Lauren Lorman (cox).

UCLA's Pacific Coast Rowing Championship Lineup
Heather Torneo (stroke), Leanne Shapard, Caitlin Kennedy, Alexis Kalionzes, Margaret Hoffecker (cox).

UCLA's Pac-10 Tradition
The 2004 season marks UCLA's eighth Pac-10 Championship appearance (third as a scholarship sport) under the direction of UCLA Athletics. UCLA is the only institution other than Washington to capture the Pac-10 women's team title. The Bruins claimed two titles from the 1990 and 1991 seasons, while Washington accumulated 15 from the 1987-89 and 1992-2003 championship seasons. The Bruins have also finished ahead of the conference five times, winning the Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Eight competitions in 1990 and 1991 and the Novice Eight event in 2003.

Last Year at the Pac-10's
UCLA finished sixth in the team standings at the 2003 Pac-10 Championships. Washington won its 12th consecutive team title, scoring 62 points. California finished second with 60 points, followed by Stanford (52), Washington State (52), Oregon State (39), UCLA (34), USC (23), and Oregon (16).

In the Women's Varsity Eight event, UCLA won the Petite Final to finish seventh overall (seventh in the Pac-10). The Bruins also won the Women's Second Varsity Eight Petite Final, finishing seventh overall (seventh in the Pac-10). UCLA placed second in the Women's Varsity Four Petite Final, finishing eighth overall (seventh in the Pac-10). In the Women's Novice Eight competition, UCLA won the Grand Final and was crowned 2003 Pac-10 Novice Eight Champions.

The Competitors
Eight Pacific-10 institutions will compete in the women's championships: California, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, UCLA, USC, Washington, and Washington State. Other West Coast institutions competing include UC Davis, Sacramento State, Santa Clara, San Diego State, Loyola Marymount, UC Santa Barbara, Southern Oregon, and Gonzaga.

Championship Results
Live scoring of the 2004 Pac-10 Championships will be available courtesy of JAMCO times (

Admission is $5 per person per day. Parking is $5 per day, and a free parking lot with shuttle service is also available. For more information about Lake Natoma, and / or the event facility, please visit the Sacramento State University Aquatic Center website at

The Schedule
Morning races begin at 8:00 a.m. Sunday, with the first heat of the Women's Varsity Four competition. The afternoon finals are slated to begin at approximately 12:50 p.m., however, if races are not necessary, the schedule will be condensed so that no open time slots remain.

The Pacific-10 Conference Women's Rowing Team Champion is determined by the order of finish of the Pac-10 crews in the Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight, Freshman / Novice Eight, and Varsity Four events. The scoring system is as follows:

Place V8 2V8 N8 V4
1 30 20 10 10
2 27 18 9 9
3 24 16 8 8
4 21 14 7 7
5 18 12 6 6
6 15 10 5 5
7 12 8 4 4
8 9 6 3 3
9 6 4 2 2

National Collegiate Championships
The Eighth Annual NCAA Women's Rowing Championships will be held Friday, May 28, through Sunday, May 20, 2004, at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind.

This Week:
18th Annual Pac-10 Women's Rowing Championships
Lake Natoma - Rancho Cordova, Calif.
Saturday, May 16, 2004


8:30 a.m. - Women's Novice Eight Heat 1
8:50 a.m. - Women's Second Varsity Eight Heat 2
9:20 a.m. - Women's Varsity Eight Heat 1

Finals (12:50 - 3:00 p.m.)
12:50 p.m. - Women's Varsity Four Grand Final

Pacific Coast Rowing Championships
Lake Natoma - Rancho Cordova, Calif.
Saturday, May 15, 2004

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network