UW Golf Team Seeded No. 8 at NCAA West Regional

May 10, 2004

Seattle - The 24th-ranked Washington men's golf team will be the No. 8 seed at the NCAA West Regional Championship to be held at Crosswater in Sunriver, Ore. May 20-22. The top 10 teams from the regional will advance to the NCAA Championships to be held at The Homestead in Hot Springs, Va., June 1-4. Washington is looking to qualify for the NCAA Championships for the sixth consecutive year.

UCLA, ranked fifth nationally, is the top seed in the West. Other Pac-10 teams receiving bids to the west regional were Arizona (third seed), USC (fourth seed), California (sixth seed) and Stanford (16th seed).

Last year Washington was seventh at the West Regional and went on to place 11th at the NCAAs for the second consecutive season. Washington senior All-American Brock Mackenzie placed sixth at the 2003 West Regional.

'We feel good about playing at Crosswater since we just tied UCLA there at the Northwest Shootout,' said coach Matt Thurmond. 'I thought we might be around an eight or nine seed. Now we have to go out and play really solid for three days and keep our NCAA streak going.'

Washington's lineup for the regional will include Mackenzie, Dan Potter, Corey Prugh, Alex Prugh and Erik Olson.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Crosswater Club at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon
Hosted by University of Portland

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. UCLA2. Arizona State3. Arizona (Pac-10)4. Southern California5. Brigham Young6. California7. UNLV8. Washington9. New Mexico (Mountain West)10. Pepperdine (West Coast)11. Colorado State12. Toledo (MAC)13. UTEP14. UCF (Atlantic Sun)15. San Diego State16. Stanford17. North Carolina-Wilmington (Colonial)18. Furman (Southern)19. Denver20. New Mexico State (Sun Belt)21. UC Riverside22. UC Irvine23. Coastal Carolina (Big South)24. Long Beach State (Big West)25. Louisiana-Monroe (Southland)26. Loyola (Maryland) (Metro Atlantic)27. Wright State (Horizon)

Individuals: 1. Matt Kodama, Hawaii2. Travis Bertoni, Cal Poly3. Graham DeLaet, Boise State4. Chad Spencer, Fresno State5. Joe Lanza, St. Mary's (California)6. Garrett Clegg, Utah

Yale Golf Course in New Haven, Connecticut
Hosted by Yale University

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Florida2. Clemson (Atlantic Coast)3. Georgia (SEC)4. Georgia Tech5. South Carolina6. Augusta State7. Wake Forest8. Duke9. Tennessee10. North Carolina11. LSU12. Georgia State13. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley)14. North Carolina State15. Alabama-Birmingham16. Auburn17. Vanderbilt18. Georgia Southern19. Penn State20. Georgetown21. Towson22. Rhode Island (Atlantic 10)23. Maryland24. Binghamton25. Yale26. Army (Patriot)27. Long Island (Northeast)

Individuals: 1. Lars Brovold, Alabama2. Billy Hurley, Navy3. Gareth Maybin, South Alabama4. Ryan Stinnett, Virginia Tech5. Robert Dinwiddie, Tennessee State6. Matt Johnson, Winthrop

Birck Boilermaker Golf Course in West Lafayette, Indiana
Hosted by Purdue University

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Oklahoma State2. Texas (Big 12)3. TCU (C-USA)4. Minnesota5. Oklahoma6. Kentucky7. Arkansas8. Kansas9. Tulsa10. Colorado11. Southern Methodist (WAC)12. Texas Tech13. Kansas State14. Baylor15. Texas A&M16. Xavier17. Illinois18. Ohio State (Big Ten)19. Purdue20. Kent State21. Wichita State (Missouri Valley)22. Indiana23. Lamar24. Notre Dame (Big East)25. Princeton (Ivy)26. Western Illinois (Mid-Continent)27. Jackson State (SWAC)

Individuals: 1. Mike Mezei, Texas-San Antonio2. Tom Johnson, Northwestern3. Jeremy Lyons, Iowa State4. Zach Mowbray, Houston5. Zach Atkinson, North Texas6. Brandon Brown, Eastern Kentucky

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder