Bruins WinEighth Consecutive Pac-10 Title, Score 174.5 Points in Victory

May 15, 2004

Tucson, AZ - At the conclusion of the 2004 Pac-10 Track and Field Championships, held at Arizona's Roy P. Drachman Stadium, the Bruin women won their eighth consecutive Pac-10 title, scoring 174.50 points.

Final Team Scores
1. UCLA 174.50, 2. Stanford 153, 3. USC 111, 4. Arizona State 97, 5. California 68, 6. Washington 66, 7. Oregon 58, 8. Washington State 45.50, 9. Arizona 45.

Under Bruin head coach Jeanette Bolden, in her 11th season, UCLA has won eight consecutive Pac-10 titles, 10 of the last 11 conference crowns (1996/3rd). Overall, UCLA has won 15 Pac-10 titles since 1987.

'Our goal at this meet was to repeat as champions, but not at the expense of any of our athletes,' Bolden said. 'We wanted to focus on doing well, but at the same time understand that this is just a step, a first step to Regionals and Nationals.'

Field Finals

Discus - freshman Kamaiya Warren placed fourth (165-6).

Triple Jump - junior Candice Baucham defended her title, winning with a personal-best mark of 44-8 (1.6, ties meet record, No. 2 in UCLA history, No. 5 in Pac-10 history, RQ).

'Today I focused on what I've been doing in practice,' Baucham said. 'I was nervous, but after my first jump I did what I came here to do. A Pac-10 title does matter to us, it's a building block to Nationals.'

Pole Vault - sophomore Chelsea Johnson, the NCAA Outdoor record holder (15-0), placed second, with a height of 14-2. Sophomore Jacqueline Nguyen finished eighth (13-2.25, personal outdoor best, RQ).

Running Finals

4x100m Relay - senior Sani Roseby, senior Sheena Johnson, sophomore Dawn Harper and junior Monique Henderson placed first, with a stadium record time of 43.43 (Pac-10 meet record, No. 2 in UCLA history, No. 3 in Pac-10 history, RQ).

1,500m -UCLA picked up 14 points in this event. Sophomore Alejandra Barrientos was third (4:23.15), sophomore Ashley Caldwell was fifth (4:26.00), senior Melissa McBain placed sixth (4:27.57) and sophomore Allison Hall finished eighth (4:33.17)

100m Hurdles - Sheena Johnson defended her Pac-10 title, winning with a personal-best time of 12.76 (0.0, stadium record, No. 2 on current USA chart, No. 2 in UCLA history, No. 3 in Pac-10 history). Sani Roseby was second, in a time of 12.96 (personal-best, No. 4 in school history/ last night, Roseby ran a then-PR of 12.97).

400m - Monique Henderson won the event in a school record time of 50.90, breaking Florence Griffith's mark of 50.94 (1983). It was a meet record, RQ and No. 2 in Pac-10 history (Henderson's PR is 50.40 in 2000, the former national high school record). Senior Adia McKinnon placed ninth (54.62, season-best, RQ).

100m - Sani Roseby placed second 11.52 (0.8).

800m - The Bruins picked up 15 points in this event - Ashley Caldwell won, in a personal-best time of 2:06.88 (RQ) and redshirt freshman Jenna Timinsky placed fourth (2:08.55). Melissa McBain placed ninth (2:18.24).

400m Hurdles - Sheena Johnson defended her 400m hurdle title, in a time of 55.45 (slower than last night's prelim mark of 54.32, a Pac-10 meet record). She's only the second women in conference history to repeat as 100mH/400mH champion (joining UCLA's Janeene Vickers, 1989-90). In the 400m hurdles, Johnson is the first-ever four-time champion in the event (only the third woman in Pac-10 history to win an individual event all four years, joining UCLA's Amy Acuff/HJ/1994-97 and USC's Inga Stasiulionyte/JT/2001-04). Freshman MacKenzie Hill placed ninth (1:07.86).

200m - Monique Henderson won the event, in a stadium record mark of 22.89 (0.0). She joins Arizona State's Maicel Malone as the only other athlete in women's conference history to win both the 200m/400m in the same meet (1988, 1990, 1991). Sani Roseby placed third (23.55, season-best, RQ).

5,000m - no entries

4x400m Relay - Sani Roseby, Sheena Johnson, Adia McKinnon and Monique Henderson placed first, in a time of 3:32.39 (season-best, RQ, No. 10 in school history).

RQ - NCAA Regional Qualifying Mark

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder