Track Awards Banquet Winners

May 19, 2004

BERKELEY, Calif. - Although NCAA Championships are still ahead, the California Track & Field program held its annual awards banquet last night. The evening, which many of the student-athletes shared with their parents in addition to coaches and alumni, featured the following award-winners.

Junior Rhuben Williams, who posted three top-five finishes at Pac-10 Championships, and sophomore Teak Wilburn, who won the Pac-10 high jump title, shared the award for male Outstanding Field Athlete. Senior Sheni Russell won the honor on the women's side for Outstanding Field Athlete. Russell set a new school record in the discus this season (181-02, 55.22m) and finished second in the event at Pac-10 Championships. Senior Ahmad Wright and sophomore Antonette Carter were named the Outstanding Track Athletes. Wright finished third in the 400 meter hurdles at Pac-10 Championships, at 50.35 a time that moved him into a tie for seventh all-time at Cal. Carter broke the school records in the 100 meter dash (11.49) and 200 meter dash (23.33) at Pac-10 Championships last weekend. Carter and Wilburn were also awarded the Walter Christie Award for outstanding performance.

Freshman Darren Woods, sophomore Scott Sobieralski, and sophomore transfer Tiffany Johnson were all named Most Valuable Newcomer. Woods qualified for Pac-10s and NCAA Regionals in the 400 meter and is a member of Cal's NCAA Regional qualifying 4x400 meter relay team. In his first season of competition, Sobieralski finished sixth in the decathlon at Pac-10 Multi Championships with 7,215 points. Johnson, a Bay Area native and transfer from the University of Maryland, is a member of Cal's school-record-holding 4x100 meter relay team.

The Golden Bear Award for most valuable team member was awarded to junior Brooke Meredith and senior Bruce Giron. Meredith was an indoor All-American, finishing third at nationals in the pentathlon. She earned eight points for the Bears with her runner-up finish in the heptathlon at Pac-10 Multi Championships. Giron moved up to No. 9 all-time at Cal in the triple jump this year with his PR of 52-10.00 (16.10m) for a second-place finish at Pac-10 Championships. He also scored points for the Bears at the conference meet with his fifth place finish in the 110 meter hurdles, 14.53.

The Al Regan Award for most improved went to senior Tom Allen and redshirt freshman Veronique Richardson. Allen posted a personal best of 1:53.51 in the 800m, an improvement of about a second from last year, and a PR of 3:54.19 in the 1500m and ran a 4:15.65 in the mile this season. Richardson ran a 12.38 in the 100m and 26.86 in the 200m this season.

The Scott Norby-Cedillo award for mental attitude, named for the current senior, was given this year to steeplechaser Abby Parker. The junior qualified for Pac-10 Championships in both the 1500 meter and the 3000 meter steeplechase, although she was unable to participate due to injury.

The Brutus Hamilton Award for outstanding academic achievement was awarded to seniors Nick Mazur, valedictorian of his graduating African-American studies class, and Stephanie Cowling, who won the Geballe post-graduate scholarship award and will apply the scholarship to her Masters in Education here at Berkeley.

Captains awards were given to the co-captains: Cowling, Wright, Williams and senior Deanna Slaton. In addition, plaques were given to the new school record holders: Russell (discus), Meredith ('new' javelin), Carter (100m, 200m, 4x100m relay), Johnson (4x100mrelay), junior Shannan Hawes (4x100m relay) and sophomore Osarhiemen Omawanghe (100m hurdles, 4x100m relay).

The Bears have this weekend off before heading to Northridge, Calif. for the NCAA West Regional, May 28-29.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder