Head Coach Dave O'Neill Named Regional Coach of the Year

May 21, 2004

ANN ARBOR, Mich. - The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) named Cal head coach Dave O'Neill the Coach of the Year for the West Region. The CRCA also named Cal co-captains Remy Hitomi and Martha Helgeland along with fellow varsity eight rowers Kaylan Vander Schilden, Laura Terheyden and Jessica Patak to the All-Region team.

This season, O'Neill led the Golden Bears to their first ever Pac-10 team title, and the varsity eight's first title since 1979. Now in his sixth year, O'Neill has led Cal to six straight team invitations to the NCAA Championship Regatta, and his varsity eight has placed in the top four nationally three times. In 2003 the Bears placed fifth in the team competition, with the second varsity eight finishing third, and the varsity four placing second.

The CRCA also announced its 2004 All-Region Awards today. The Bears are well represented, with five members of the varsity eight receiving awards. Junior coxswain and co-captain Remy Hitomi, senior co-captain Martha Helgeland, junior Laura Terheyden and sophomore Kaylan Vander Schilden recieved first-team All-Region honors for the West region. Senior Jessica Patak received second-team All-Region honors. Cal and Washington led the list of recipients, with five each; USC was next with three.

CRCA Regional Coaches of the YearCentral: Andy Teitelbaum (Ohio State)Mid-Atlantic: Lori Dauphiny (Princeton)New England: Liz O'Leary (Harvard) and Will Porter (Yale)South: Lisa GlennWest: Dave O'Neill

CRCA All-Region Awards - WestFirst TeamMartha Helgeland                CaliforniaKaylan Vander Schilden          CaliforniaLaura Terheyden                 CaliforniaRemy Hitomi                     California (Coxswain)Sandra Hangan                   WashingtonYvonneke Stenken                WashingtonAndrea Korom                    USCSimone Manhold                  USCMissy Fielser                   StanfordErin Patterson                  Washington StateMonica Grova                    UCLAMaria Bokulich                  GonzagaJulia White-Hoppe               Oregon State

Second TeamJessica Patak CaliforniaMary Reeves WashingtonAllison DePalma WashingtonMegan Mach Washington (Coxswain)Andria Shook USCMelissa Haury StanfordJody Thomas Washington StateVanessa Glendenning Loyola MarymountStephanie Brow Sacramento State

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder