Sumantri Leads Four Huskies On Pac-10 All-Academic Team

May 28, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Four members of Washington's women's tennis team earned places on the Pac-10 All-Academic team, announced today by Commissioner Tom Hansen. Junior Dea Sumantri led the way, being named to the six-member first team, while three other Huskies earned Honorable Mentions.

Sumantri (Jakarta, Indonesia) is the first Husky to make the first team since 2000. In 2003, Sumantri garnered a second team nod. Sumantri finished as UW's top-ranked singles player at No. 17. The junior owns a 3.57 grade-point average, majoring in Business/Marketing.

Honorable Mentions were handed out to senior Erin Hoe (Mililani, Hawaii), sophomore Dinka Hadzic (Split, Croatia), and sophomore Stephanie Svanfeldt (Belvedere, Calif.). This is the third-consecutive Honorable Mention for Hoe, as she earned the recognition in 2002 and 2003. Hadzic and Svanfeldt are each making their first appearance on the All-Academic roster.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

2004 Pac-10 Women's Tennis All-Academic Team
First Team

Lorena Arias (WSU), Lauren Fisher (UCLA), Dianne Hollands (Arizona), Jieun Jacobs (Cal), Amber Liu (Stanford), Dea Sumantri (Washington)

Second Team
Ester Bak (Oregon), Alice Barnes (Stanford), Lauren Barnikow (Stanford), Nicole Havlicek (Cal), Daria Panova (Oregon), Story Tweedie-Yates (Stanford)

Honorable Mention
Jackie Carleton (UCLA), Lauren Colalillo (Arizona State), Zsofia Fodor (WSU), Nora Gaal (WSU), Dinka Hadzic (Washington), Erin Hoe (Washington), Raquel Kop-Jones (Cal), Debbie LaRocque (Arizona), Anna Leksinska (Oregon), Chris Martinez (WSU), Courtney Nagle (Oregon), Jode Scheldt (Cal), Jessica Shu (Cal), Cindy Sureephong (Arizona State), Stephanie Svanfeldt (Washington)

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder