Two Women's Tennis Players Selected as Pac-10 All-Academic

May 28, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Commissioner Tom Hansen announced the 2004 Pac-10 women's tennis All-Academic teams today. Junior Dianne Hollands was a first-team selection, while senior Debbie Larocque earned honorable mention academic honors.

Dianne Hollands, a native of Dunedin, New Zealand, is an English Major. The junior earned first-team all-academic recognition while carrying a 3.7 GPA. Hollands lead the Wildcats through the season by playing primarily in the No. 1 position in both singles and doubles competition. Hollands ended the season with a No. 11 ranking in the ITA polls. She advanced to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Women's Tennis Singles Championships before losing to No. 3 ranked Cristelle Grier of Northwestern. Hollands finished the season with a 32-12 record.

Debbie Larocque served as the Wildcats lone senior. The native of Laval, Quebec earned honorable mention honors with her major of psychology. The senior played primarily in the third position for the Wildcats, while earning a record of 10-21.

In order to be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or a significant contributor.

First Team

Lorena Arias, WSU Sr. 3.58 CommunicationsLauren Fisher, UCLA Jr. 3.60 Communications StudiesDianne Hollands, ARIZ Jr. 3.70 EnglishJieun Jacobs, CAL Sr. 3.61 HistoryAmber Liu, STAN So. 3.77 UndeclaredDea Sumantri, WASH Jr. 3.57 Business/Marketing

Second Team

Ester Bak, ORE Jr. 3.57 AccountingAlice Barnes, STAN So. 3.51 UndeclaredLauren Barnikow, STAN Sr. 3.54 International RelationsNicole Havlicek, CAL Sr. 3.38 EconomicsDaria Panova, ORE Jr. 3.38 EconomicsS. Tweedie-Yates, STAN Jr. 3.53 Psychology

HONORABLE MENTION: Jackie Carleton, So., UCLA; LaurenColalillo, Jr., ASU; Zsofia Fodor, Jr., WSU; Nora Gaal, Jr., WSU;Dinka Hadzic, So., WASH; Erin Hoe, Sr., WASH; Raquel Kops-Jones, Sr.,CAL; Debbie Larocque, Sr., ARIZ; Anna Leksinska, So., ORE; ChrisMartinez, Jr., WSU; Courtney Nagle, Sr., ORE; Jody Scheldt, Sr., CAL;Jessica Shu, So., CAL; Cindy Sureephong, Sr., ASU; StephanieSvanfeldt, So., WASH.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder