Stanford Selected As Regional Site For 2004 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship

May 30, 2004

  • 2004 Postseason Ticket Information

    Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee has selected Stanford as one of 16 regional sites for the 2004 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship announced Sunday. Stanford will be hosting an NCAA Regional for the ninth consecutive year and the 13th time in school history.

    The NCAA Regional at Sunken Diamond will begin with two games next Friday, June 4 (2 pm, 6 pm, PDT). Three games will be played on Saturday, June 5 (11 am, 3 pm, 7 pm, PDT) with the regional championship slated for Sunday, June 6 (1 pm, 5 pm if necessary, PDT). All-session passes for the event will go on sale Tuesday, June 1, at the Stanford Athletics Ticket Office or by calling 1-800-STANFORD. Stanford Athletics Ticket Office hours this Tuesday-Friday are 9 am - 4 pm. Prices for all-session passes are $50 (Reserved), $35 (Adult General Admission) and $20 (Child/Senior/Student General Admission). Single game tickets will be available on the day of the game only. Prices for single-game tickets are $15 (Reserved), $12 (General Admission Adult) and $8 (Child/Senior/Student General Admission).

    Stanford is attempting to extend its school record streak of College World Series appearances to six in 2004. The Cardinal has made five appearances in the CWS championship game, winning the national title in 1987 and 1988 and finishing as runners-up in three of the last four seasons (2000, 2001, 2003).

    Stanford (44-12, 17-7 Pac-10) captured its second straight outright Pac-10 title in 2004. The team's 44 regular season victories tied for the second most in school history behind the 1990 club that won a school record 59 games overall and posted a regular season record of 52-11 in 63 games.

    The complete list of 16 regional sites, with host institutions final regular season records, are as follows: Fayetteville, Arkansas (Arkansas, 39-21); Fullerton, California (Cal State Fullerton, 36-20); Kinston, North Carolina (East Carolina, 48-11); Tallahassee, Florida (Florida State, 42-20); Athens, Georgia (Georgia, 38-20); Atlanta, Georgia (Georgia Tech, 41-19); Baton Rouge, Louisiana (Louisiana State, 41-17); Coral Gables, Florida (Miami, Fla., 44-11); Oxford, Mississippi (Mississippi, 39-19); South Bend, Indiana (Notre Dame, 49-10); Oklahoma City, Oklahoma (Oklahoma, 37-22); Houston, Texas (Rice, 43-12); Columbia, South Carolina (South Carolina, 45-15); Palo Alto, California (Stanford, 44-12); Austin, Texas (Texas, 50-13); Charlottesville, Virginia (Virginia, 42-13). All regionals are campus sites except East Carolina (Grainger Stadium in Kinston, North Carolina) and Oklahoma (SBC Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City).

    By virtue of being awarded a regional, 12 of the host institutions also have been selected as at-large teams to the 64-team field, but some could win automatic berths Sunday in their respective conference tournaments. Cal State Fullerton, Notre Dame, Rice and Stanford already have clinched automatic berths. Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 4 - Sunday, June 6.

    Mississippi and Virginia will host a regional for the first time, while eight sites (Cal State Fullerton, Florida State, Georgia Tech, LSU, Miami, Rice, Stanford, Texas) also hosted in 2003. This will be the 23rd time that Florida State has hosted a regional, while Miami and Texas are hosting for the 20th time since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975. LSU is hosting a regional for the 16th time, while Stanford (13th), South Carolina (10th), Georgia Tech (sixth), Cal State Fullerton (fourth), Notre Dame (fourth), Rice (fourth), Arkansas (second), and Georgia (second) have hosted in the past as well. East Carolina has hosted a regional before, but it was in Wilson, North Carolina. This will be the first regional held in Kinston, North Carolina. This will be the fifth time that Oklahoma has served as host institution, with three of those regionals being held in Oklahoma City.

    The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced on Monday, May 31 (9 am, PDT) during a live, half-hour program on ESPN2. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series. The committee will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced Sunday, June 6, live during an ESPN SportsCenter telecast (8 pm, PDT). Thirty Division I conferences receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections.

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    3:30 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder