Pac-10 Baseball Lands Five in NCAA Tournament

May 31, 2004


WALNUT CREEK, Calif.- Five Pac-10 teams were selected for the NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, the first time five teams from the Conference have made the postseason since 1997. Those Conference teams in the Tournament are: ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, STANFORD, UCLA, and WASHINGTON.

Pac-10 Champion and last year's College World Series runner-up, Stanford, garnered a No. 5 national seed and will host regional play in Stanford, Calif. for the 13th year with a first round match up with UNLV (37-22). It is the 11th consecutive regional appearance for the Cardinal, their 25th overall. Arizona State picked up the No. 7 national seed, and will play at the Cal State Fullerton Regional in Fullerton, Calif., starting with Pepperdine (28-30). It is ASU's 28th regional appearance, its fifth in a row. Both teams will be the number one seeds in their regional.

Washington will make its third straight postseason appearance and eighth overall, as the No. 2 team in the Mississippi Regional and will begin the tournament by playing Tulane (38-19). Arizona and UCLA both picked up the third seed in their regional, with the Wildcats set to play UC Irvine (34-21-1) at the Notre Dame Regional in South Bend, Ind., and the Bruins to play Oklahoma (37-22) in the Oklahoma City Regional. Arizona will make its second consecutive regional appearance, 31st overall. The Bruins make their first postseason appearance since 2000, their 12th regional overall.

All games will start on June 4 in a double elimination format with the winner advancing to the Super Regional beginning June 11-12. For more information about the Tournament, go to, or check the Pac-10's web site at

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder