Sixteen Track & Field Student-Athletes Garner Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

June 1, 2004

TEMPE, Ariz. - Sixteen members of the Arizona State track and field program earned Pac-10 All-Academic honors, Tom Hansen, the commisioner of the conference, announced Tuesday. Overall, eight men and eight women garnered accolades for their success in the classroom while Jeremy Cramer and Dan Maher for the men and Sara Shisslak for the women earned first-team recognition.

Cramer took his second first-team of the academic year as he also captured the distinction at the conclusion of the 2003 cross country season. Maher's accolade not only is the eighth of his career with the Sun Devils, but is also marks the first time he has earned recognition higher than honorable mention. For four seasons as a member of the cross country team (2003, 2002, 2001 and 2000) and the past three with the track team (2003, 2002 and 2001), Maher had earned honorable mention honors. Shisslak, who saw limited action in the field events this season, captured her first academic honor.

Lee Bartes, Jay DeGroot, Griffin Lee and Ryan Warrenburg each earned second-team recognition for the men while Julia Pedersen earned the same for the women. Bartes moved up from his honorable mention position earned last season while DeGroot made the second team for the second year in a row. Lee and Warrenburg, both honorees in cross country earlier this season, earned their first track and field honor. Pedersen garnered her second accolade after being named honorable mention last season.

Two men and six women were placed on the honorable mention team. For the men, Greg Halver captured his first academic honor while Juan Reyes secured the fifth of his career. Reyes has been selected to the honorable mention track and field team for the past three seasons while also earning the same distinction in cross country for the past two years. On the women's side, Alvina Begay, Desiree Davila, Liz Lindgren, Anna Masinelli, Katrice Walton and Jenna Wrieden were all honored. Begay and Davila each earned their fourth honors (track and field and cross country combined) while Lindgren and Wrieden added to the honorable mentions attained in cross country this season. Masinelli and Walton each garnered the first academic honors of their careers.

The track and field team concludes the 2004 outdoor season at the NCAA Championships in Austin, Texas, June 9-12. Several members of the team also will compete in the USA Track and Field Olympic Team Trials, slated for July 9-18 in Sacramento, Calif.

2004 Pac-10 All-Academic Selections
Jeremy Cramer - First Team
Dan Maher - First Team
Lee Bartes - Second Team
Jay DeGroot - Second Team
Griffin Lee - Second Team
Ryan Warrenburg - Second Team
Greg Halver - Honorable Mention
Juan Reyes - Honorable Mention

Sara Shisslak - First Team
Julia Pedersen - Second Team
Alvina Begay - Honorable Mention
Desiree Davila - Honorable Mention
Liz Lindgren - Honorable Mention
Anna Masinelli - Honorable Mention
Katrice Walton - Honorable Mention
Jenna Wrieden - Honorable Mention

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network