Gary Adams Named Pac-10 Coach of the Year

June 2, 2004

Bruin head coach Gary Adams was named the Pacific-10 Conference's Coach of the Year on Wednesday, Commissioner Ton Hansen announced. Junior shortstop Ryan McCarthy and senior pitcher Casey Janssen were both named to the All Pac-10 First Team, while seven other Bruins earned Honorable Mention honors.

Adams earns his third Coach of the Year award after leading the Bruins to a third-place finish in the conference. UCLA was picked to finish seventh in the preseason poll. After back-to-back losing season, Adams guided the Bruins to a 33-27 overall record and a 14-10 mark in conference action. UCLA also will head into the postseason for the first time since 200 when it travels to Oklahoma City this weekend. Adams will be retiring at the season's end, which is his 30th at the helm of the Bruin program. In 2005, Adams will be inducted into the ABCA Hall of Fame.

McCarthy, who tied for the conference lead in home runs in Pac-10 play, picked up his first career first team honor. Among the conference's top 10 in batting average, slugging percentage, RBI, and total bases in conference play, McCarthy led the Bruin offense down the stretch. He hit two home runs three different times in conference action. On the year, he leads UCLA with 13 home runs, 15 doubles and 43 RBI. On the defensive side, McCarthy leads the conference with 206 assists this season.

Janssen was also named to the first team for the first time in his career. A two-time Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week recipient, the Huntington Beach native led the Bruins with nine wins during the season. He struck-out 96 batters in 108.2 innings of action. Janssen held opposing batters to a .213 average, which ranked second in the Pac-10. He threw his first career complete game on May 21 at Washington, holding the Huskies to one run in his ninth win of the season.

Seniors Brandon Averill, Preston Griffin and Mike Svetlic all were named Pac-10 Honorable Mention along with Chris Denove, Brett McMillan, Matt Thayer and Wes Whisler.

Whisler has been honored by the conference in each of his three years in Westwood after being named to the first-team in his freshman and sophomore campaigns. McMillan was an Honorable Mention selection last season.

Stanford's Jed Lowrie was named Pac-10 Player of the Year, while Washington's Tim Lincecum earned Pitcher and Freshman of the Year honors.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder