Men's Golf In 27th After Two Rounds At NCAA Championships

June 2, 2004

The Arizona State men's golf team shot a 24-over 304 and is in 27th after the second round at the 107th annual NCAA Men's Golf Championships held at The Homestead Resort's Cascades Golf Course (par-70, 6,679 yards) in Hot Springs, Va.

California leads the tournament by one stroke and is trying to join ASU as the only Pac-10 team to win the NCAA championship in the past 10 years, as ASU won the 1996 title and also won the 1990 title. Other Pac-10 teams to win the NCAA Men's Golf Championship are: Stanford (1938, 1939, 1941, 1942, 1946, 1953 and 1994), UCLA (1988) and Arizona (1992).

UCLA is just four shots back of Cal and is trying to join ASU as the only school to win both the men's and women's golf championships in the same season, as ASU won both in 1990. UCLA has the opportunity this year as it women's squad won the 2004 title on May 18-22 in Opelika, Ala.

Mesa native Jesse Mueller is at 6-over 146 and leads the Sun Devils.

Jeff Hood of California and Chris Nallen of Arizona are both tied for the individual lead with Matt Wells of Kentucky. ASU has had four NCAA medalists on six occasions, as Sun Devils Jim Carter (1983), Phil Mickelson (1989, 1990, 1992) and Todd Demsey (1993) all won NCAA titles before Alejandro Canizares took home the honor last year in Stillwater. Other Pac-10 individual winners include: Frank Tatum Jr. of Stanford (1942), Scott Simpson of USC (1976 and 1977), Ron Commans of USC (1981) and Tiger Woods of Stanford (1996).

The teams will play two more 18 hole rounds on Thursday and Friday.

ASU Men's Golf--NCAA Championship--Hot Springs, Va.--June 1-4

Full 30-team and 156-player results and live stats are available at

1. California 279-289=568 (+8)

2. Kentucky 283-286=569 (+9)

3. Brigham Young 280-290=570 (+10)

27. Arizona State 292-304=596 (+36)

Individual Leader/ASU Individuals

T1. Jeff Hood, California 65-71=136 (-4)

T1. Chris Nallen, Arizona 69-67=136 (-4)

T1. Matt Wells, Kentucky 68-68=136 (-4)

T59. Jesse Mueller 71-75=146 (+6)

T88. Alejandro Canizares 70-78=148 (+8)

T120. Chez Reavie 75-76=151 (+11)

T132. Niklas Lemke 76-76=152 (+12)

T144. Mike Derminio 78-77=155 (+15)

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder