Women's 400 Meter Relay Team Earns All-America Honors

June 11, 2004

Austin, Tx - The Stanford women's 400 meter relay team gained All-American honors to highlight Stanford's activities during the third day of competition on Friday at the 2004 NCAA Division I Men's & Women's Track & Field Championships at the University of Texas (Myers Stadium).

The Cardinal team of Janice Davis, Nashonme Johnson, Christine Moschella and Ashley Purnell toured the oval in a time of 44.54, good for eighth place. LSU set a stadium record in capturing first place with a time of 42.61.

The final day of competition will be on Saturday. Stanford events will be the women's shot put (5:00 p.m. ct) where Jill Camarena will attempt to become the first Cardinal athlete to win the competition since Carol Cady captured the NCAA title in 1983; Donald Sage (1992 NCAA champion) in the 1,500 meters (7:00 p.m.); Ian Dobson has the nation's best time (8:32.09) in the 3,000 meter steeplechase (7:25 p.m.); the women's 5,000 meters (8:55 p.m.) where Sara Bei is one of the favorites; while Louis Luchini will join Seth Hejny and Jacob Gomez in the 5,000 meters (9:15 p.m.).

After three days of competition, the Stanford women have earned eleven points, good enough for eleventh place. Nebraska leads with 38 points.

Friday's Results

400 Meters (prelims) - 1. Jerry Harris (TCU 44.92q; 23. Nick Sebes (Stanford) 47.46nq

400 Meters (prelims) - 1. Sanya Richards (Texas) 50.86q; 24. Nashonme Johnson (Stanford) 54.34nq

400 Meter Relay (final) - 1. LSU 42.61 (stadium record); 8. Stanford (Janice Davis, Nashonme Johnson, Christine Moschella, Ashley Purnell) 44.54

Triple Jump (prelims) - 1. Shelly-Ann Gallimore (Auburn) 44-5 1/4 (13.54m)wa/q; 22. Undine Becker (Stanford) 41-3 1/4 (12.58m)wa/nq

Saturday's Schedule, June 12, 2004
5:00 p.m. - Women's Shot Put (final)

Jill Camarena

7:00 p.m. - Men's 1,500 Meters (final)
Donald Sage

7:25 p.m. - Men's 3,000 Meter Steeplechase (final)
Ian Dobson

8:55 p.m. - Women's 5,000 Meters (final)
Sara Bei

9:15 p.m. - Men's 5,000 Meters (final)
Jacob Gomez, Seth Hejny, Louis Luchini

For complete results, go to www.texassports.com

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder