This Week In Pac-10 Baseball

June 15, 2004

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Pacific-10 Conference has produced a College World Series participant each year since 1996 and has made the CWS 23 times overall since the league became known as the Pac-10 in 1979... ARIZONA is making its first CWS appearance since winning the national title in 1986, and the program's 15th appearance overall... The Wildcats are tied with Stanford for the seventh most berths in CWS history... U of A is scheduled to play Georgia, the first meeting ever of the two teams... Arizona advanced to the CWS after beating Long Beach State in the Super Regional, two games to one, winning the final game 4-3 in the bottom of the 11th inning on June 13 in Long Beach... The Pac-10 has won 24 National Championships, 15 more than the Big 12, in second place with nine titles... The last Pac-10 team to win the title was USC in 1998.

Omaha, Neb.
Fri., June 18

Arizona vs. Georgia
1 p.m. CST, ESPN2

Sun., June 20
Arizona/Georgia vs. Arkansas/Texas
Winners from Friday 1 p.m. CST (ESPN)
Losers from Friday 6 p.m. CST (ESPN2)

Long Beach, Calif.
Fri., June 11

ARIZONA 6, Long Beach State 5

Sat., June 12
Long Beach State 9, ARIZONA 4

Sun., June 13
ARIZONA 4, Long Beach State 3 (11 inn)


Arizona- The Wildcats will be making their 15th all-time College World Series appearance, and first since winning the National Championship in 1986... Arizona has won three national titles (1976, 1980, and 1986) and has been to the championship game three other times (1957, 1960, 1963)... The Wildcats' 35 wins are the fewest for a College World Series team since California made it in 1992 with 35 wins as well... Head Coach Andy Lopez becomes the fastest coach in school history to lead the Wildcats to the College World Series, accomplishing the feat in only three seasons... Lopez becomes just the third head coach in Division I history to lead three different schools to the College World Series (other teams in the CWS under Lopez are Pepperdine and Florida)... Lopez recorded his 100th win as skipper of the U of A team in the 6-5 win over Long Beach State on June 11... Arizona won the Super Regional on June 13, after SO C Nick Hundley hit a sacrifice fly to center field in the bottom of the 11th inning to score SR INF Moises Duran from third, winning the game 4-3... Duran reached third base after an errant throw to first base allowed him to run to second and a wild pitch let him grab third... Arizona had been on a nine-game losing streak to the 49ers dating back to 2001 until the Super Regional... The Wildcats are now 4-1 in the postseason this year, and 3-1 against teams they played in the regular season, going 0-5-1 against those teams in regular season play... JR C Richard Mercado and FR INF Jason Donald are the only players for the Wildcats to have a hit in all six postseason games... Arizona has won 12 one-run games this season... FR RHP Mark Melancon pitched a total of 3.2 innings over the weekend earning one save and allowing just one hit while striking out five... The opening round pairing with the Georgia Bulldogs, will be the first time the two teams have faced each other on the diamond.

2004 All-Americans
(as of June 15)

Sports Weekly
Jed Lowrie-STAN
Dustin Pedroia, ASU

Collegiate Baseball
First Team

Jed Lowrie- STAN

Second Team
Dustin Pedroia-ASU
Tim Lincecum- WASH

Third Team
Mark Romanczuk- STAN

Freshman Team
Jason Donald-ARIZ
Kevin Gunderson-OSU
Tim Lincecum-WASH (co-Freshman of the Year)
Ian Kennedy-USC
Zechry Zinicola-ASU

CoSIDA Academic All-Americans
Third Team

Colin Henderson-WSU

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder